Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
We tried using prepared mustard since another reviewer said it was fine to sub if you didn't have the mustard powder, but it was VERY mustardy tasting. It was still delicious, but we will try half or no mustard next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Hmmmm. I'm having a hard time rating this recipe - and I want to say that I made it exactly as stated with the only change being to put a bit less pepper in it. Although the taste was okay, the consistency of the sauce was grainy, just like some of the other reviewers had commented about. I wanted the sauce to be ultra smooth and creamy, making your mouth water to taste this the minute you laid eyes on it. But instead it had this odd appearance, almost looking like the sauce had separated. The taste was okay, but the entire dish was a bit "gummy", like there was too much macaroni (ironic, since this recipe has been praised for its macaroni to cheese ratio). In the end, I was disappointed. A boxed macaroni and cheese dinner tastes better, is cheaper and takes far less effort and time to make. Welcome back, Kraft Shells and Cheese dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I followed this recipe as written except for the powdered mustard as I didn't have any. I doubled all the ingredients knowing how my family is with macaroni and cheese. Everyone loved it, saying it had a great creamy texture, the noodles were cooked perfect and it was the perfect cheesiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Need to double pasta. I prefer to avoid processed foods, but I agree the velveeta makes it creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I don't know why everyone is raving about this one. With all the five star reviews, I was seriously disappointed. Cracker Barrel is still king, behind my Mother's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi White Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Wow, this stuff is dangerous. I only had 4oz of American cheese so threw some sharp cheddar in and used whole grain elbows. Otherwise made as stated. My kids actually loved it! Yea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
By far the best Mac and cheese ever! I always receive compliments from it. I wouldn't change a thing in the recipe. But you must have your mise en plase ready or you will burn your butter and flour mixture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This has become our go-to mac and cheese recipe. Works every time with no changes. It's really soupy looking when you put it in the oven, but it comes out thick and creamy. It tastes a lot like Velveeta to me and my kids LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I was looking for a kid friendly mac n cheese that would get eaten like Kraft's blue box, and this totally fit the bill! I made a full crockpot of this for a kids' birthday party (at the birthday boy's request) and it was devoured by kids and adults alike (some went back for 4ths!) I was shocked at how much got eaten. I didn't use the bread crumbs or bake it since it was going in the crockpot. I just made the sauce in a large stockpot then added the cooked noodles and transferred to the crockpot and kept it on warm. I quadrupled the recipe but kept the ratios the same except for pasta (used a full lb box of macaroni per previous reviews). It was just right in terms of sauce/pasta in my opinion. At first I thought it was too soupy but the pasta soaked it up. Great recipe for a no-frills mac n cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I used cheddar instead of American. Since I first made this 2 months ago my family has requested it 3 more times. My youngest sister said it was "completely legit." It's a winner in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrie143

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 765) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States