Mountain Dew™ Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I made this today and made some changes due to what I had on hand and because I needed to make it sugar free. I used a sugar free yellow cake mix and sugar free vanilla pudding with diet Mountain Dew. I baked it in a bunt pan and left off the topping and jus sprinkled it with a little powdered sugar after it was cooled. It was fantastic!!! Very moist and so easy...... Will be great with a cup of coffee for breakfast .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I used pistachio pudding, French vanilla cake mix, and Mt. Dew, and it was sooooo good! I also added one tsp almond flavoring. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
It was super moist and wow. I used the lemon cake mix and lemon pudding as it was all I had on hand. It turned out super yummy. The frosting was my hunnys favorite part, he said it was amazing. I will be making this again as it was so easy and really delivered on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I wasn't really impressed with this. It was just ok. The frosting was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I have made this recipe for my husband a couple of times now, since he loves Mt. Dew. To summarize, you use lemon cake mix and then follow the directions on the box, using mountain dew in place of the water called for on the box. I always use cream cheese frosting instead of the one listed here. A couple of years ago, all popular cake mixes started adding pudding to their mix, to make them more moist. So if you also add pudding, it is so over moist that mine fell into crumbs. The end flavor is definitely good, but we really can't taste the Mountain Dew (just extra sweet lemon cake with a little zing to it). One day I hope to create a better recipe to replace this, so that it tastes more like the soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
very good. Husband loved and so did daughters fiancee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I loved this - Refrigerated the cake w/topping, and it was fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Yummy! VERY moist. I think next time I'll cut back on the oil a bit. I only added 1/2 cup sugar to the pineapple topping and it was PERFECT. 1 cup would have been way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Very good after a day in the fridge. I did use applesauce instead of oil in the cake mix. And I also added some Mtn Dew in with the pineapple and juice before adding cornstarch to give it somw extra Dew flavor. My family really liked this cake and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carthage, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
really quick to make. huge hit at a large dinner i took it to. it disappeared and had multiple requests for the recipe. NOTE: cake cook time for me was around 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States