Mountain Dew™ Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2000
This cake is original, fun, very moist and delicious. I made it for my co-workers and they really enjoyed it. It has a zesty lemon flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2000
I had to skip the frosting because my husband is allergic to coconut. I used this recipe for the cake and then used store bought lemon cream frosting. This is one of the most moist cakes I have ever made! It turned out SO good! You can't taste the soda in it but there is still a good zesty lemon flavor. I plan to make this cake many more times! We loved it so much!!!!!!!!!Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
I made this for my aunt who LOVES Mtn. Dew. She loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
I made this cake for my husband to take to work.Everyone loved it!It is very lemony and refreshing on a hot day.I flipped it out in a carrier and let the topping roll down the sides.Then, I sprinkled with chopped pecans and placed a cherry on top.It looked Great!Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This cake is so delicious it's worth cheating on my diet for a small 2-inch square! I took it to a church gathering and to work - was a huge hit both times! I'm going to experiment next time and use sugar free pudding and diet Mt. Dew. (Not a lot of calorie savings - sorta like having a banana split and leaving off the whipped cream!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
My husband LOVES Mt. Dew so I made this for his birthday. I made it into three 8 inch round pans and added a couple of drops of green food coloring to the cake batter. When it was done it was the exact color of Mt. Dew. I also frosted it with regular Decorator Frosting I (from this site) since my husband doesn't like pineapple or coconut. This made a different layer cake that was quite good and looked nice with some icing piped around the base and top. I made the pineapple coconut frosting for the side and it tasted wonderful but would have been way too sweet on the cake. Great fun recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
I made this recipe for Easter and everyone loved it. The cake was so moist and delicious, they couldn't stop talking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
I didn't have pudding mix, so I added a couple tablespoons of flour to the cake mix. Also, I only had brown sugar on hand - so I used 1/2 cup brown sugar in the topping. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
This was very tastely and enjoyed by all who ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
I made this as a 3 layer cake, I do not think I let the frosting cool enough, but I made do. The family loved it, I thought it tasted like lemon cake with fruit topping. It was very moist and well received. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States