Mountain Dew™ Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
I am rating this a 4 because the cake itself was very good and so moist. We did not like the topping at all and ended up scraping it off. Followed the directions to a "T". I will make the cake part again but use a different topping. Actually, the cake was so good that you do not have to use a topping at all if you do not want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
This is a wonderful cake for summer! Very moist and the icing was perfectly sweet to offset the citrus taste of the cake. I used the pineapple in its own juice to keep it on the lighter side. Everyone at my office devoured this cake today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
I made this as a 3 layer cake, I do not think I let the frosting cool enough, but I made do. The family loved it, I thought it tasted like lemon cake with fruit topping. It was very moist and well received. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
This was very tastely and enjoyed by all who ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
I didn't have pudding mix, so I added a couple tablespoons of flour to the cake mix. Also, I only had brown sugar on hand - so I used 1/2 cup brown sugar in the topping. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
I made this recipe for Easter and everyone loved it. The cake was so moist and delicious, they couldn't stop talking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
My husband LOVES Mt. Dew so I made this for his birthday. I made it into three 8 inch round pans and added a couple of drops of green food coloring to the cake batter. When it was done it was the exact color of Mt. Dew. I also frosted it with regular Decorator Frosting I (from this site) since my husband doesn't like pineapple or coconut. This made a different layer cake that was quite good and looked nice with some icing piped around the base and top. I made the pineapple coconut frosting for the side and it tasted wonderful but would have been way too sweet on the cake. Great fun recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This cake is so delicious it's worth cheating on my diet for a small 2-inch square! I took it to a church gathering and to work - was a huge hit both times! I'm going to experiment next time and use sugar free pudding and diet Mt. Dew. (Not a lot of calorie savings - sorta like having a banana split and leaving off the whipped cream!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
I made this cake for my husband to take to work.Everyone loved it!It is very lemony and refreshing on a hot day.I flipped it out in a carrier and let the topping roll down the sides.Then, I sprinkled with chopped pecans and placed a cherry on top.It looked Great!Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
I made this for my aunt who LOVES Mtn. Dew. She loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States