Mountain Dew™ Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Made this cake yesterday, its insanely moist, i think next time ima go with a white cake and do an orange frosting though, its definately a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orgotloth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This cake is so moist! Had a very good lemon flavor. I made this into 2 8" layers and used regular vanilla frosting so that I could decorate it for a birthday at work. It was hard to frost without the cake falling apart because it is so moist, but the frosting was pretty thick so that didn't help either. I had a request to bring another to work the next day because they didn't get a second slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmorgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
The cake was very good & my husband loved it! I added a whole can of Mountain Dew, I also used 10x13 pan and cooked the cake for 40 minutes. I was a little scared to make the topping, however, it is delicious! My husband doesn't even like coconut, but he likes this! I let the topping cool a bit before putting it on the cooled cake. I then put the whole cake in the fridge. The cake is SOOO good the next day and when it is cold! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I love coconut & Mountain Dew! I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This was very good. My father is a big Mountain Dew fan, and I made it for him recently. He said it mainly tastes like citrus, but he thought it was very moist and delicious. I didn't make the frosting, though. I just mixed a little powdered sugar and MD, and glazed it while it was still warm. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Delicious! The cake itself is sweet and moist enough so it doesn't need the icing, but with the icing it tastes like a pineapple upside down cake but even better! Maybe one of the easiest, best tasting cakes I've made. One Warning however, cut the sugar to a half cup or the icing is too sweet! A great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Gillaspie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
made for my restaurant went like crazy everyone wants it now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I love this cake and so does my family! This cake is really good the next day when the pineapple juice soaks in the cake. The recipe I have uses Orange Supreme Cake Mix and coconut pudding. Everything else is the same. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Made this cake to take to work for a birthday boy that is known to inhale Mountain Dew. I didn't get a piece of it but folks seemed to like it and I brought home an empty pan. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
The cake was alright. It was very moist, but it really lacked flavor it didn't taste citris-like at all. Can comment of the topping, didn't make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States