Mountain Dew™ Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This cake was incredibly moist and delicious! Very lemony and the pineapple/coconut topping is great compliment to the flavor. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Very moist. I used 3 jumbo eggs and don't think you need 4. Cooked exactly 32 minutes, and it was golden. It does not taste like Mountain Dew - the flavor just adds to the citrus taste. Next time I will layer the cake and the topping for prettier presentation. The topping is good too - a very unique tasting combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I wanted to bring a dessert to a 4th of July party. Browsing recipes here, I came across this one, which sounded perfect for the day. Summer time heat...it has to be light. And then the idea of lemon cake with Mountain Dew, and coconut....THUD..sounded awesome. And it was! It was a HIT! And so easy to make. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DietingBdyBuilder

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Pretty good. Not the best I've made but still pretty good. Hubby asked me to make it next time with white cake mix instead of lemon since he's not as big of a lemon fan as I am. Cake is very moist. Good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I had a request for a cake made from Code Red Mt Dew so I subed it for the regular Dew and added a bit of red food coloring. It was pretty and the requestor LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Satanta, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
i did this to a T and i dont know what happend i was making this for my wife to take to work for a party and iam knowen for my cakes there i almost dont want to send it. it came out so bad i have been making cakes for a loung time and i think this one has to much fluid in it if i make this again i will use less pop and about 3/4 cup oil i hate to give this a bad review it could have been so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I made this cake for my Aunt who loves MT.DEW. Overall the cake was pretty good and lemony but pretty sweet. Everyone seemed to like it who had a piece. I personally thought it was better the second day. Don't know if I would make this again but it was fun to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I made it for my friends eighteenth birthday and it was easy easy easy. I didn't have any myself, but it got pretty good reviews overall and did seem very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Pretty impressed with this recipe. I made some substitutions to make maybe it a tad healthier. I used egg beaters in place of the eggs, 1/3 cup applesauce and 2/3 cups ex. vir. olive oil (promise you can't taste it!), diet mountain dew, and a simple vanilla glaze for the frosting. Also added a titch of green food coloring. Hubby, who doesn't like sweets so much but heart mnt. dew, loves it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Very good, very moist. My boss loves Mountain Dew, so I made this for her birthday. I wasn't sure if everyone liked coconut, so I left that separate for people to put on themselves. Next time, I'll probably only put 1/2 or 3/4 Cup of sugar in the frosting. It was a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States