Mountain Apple Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
This recipe is absolutely amazing! I did make a few tweaks after reading all of the other raving reviews. My adjustments were: 1. I lightly sprinkled the apple slices with cinnamon and sugar before rolling in the crescent rolls. 2. I used honey butter crescent rolls, 1 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract, 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon apple pice spice, and 8 ounces Mountain Dew. 3. I topped it with the pecans that come in the glass jar that is packed with syrup (found in the ice cream aisle). 4. I removed them from the original cooking pan so they would not get soggy prior to serving. Mmmmm mmmmm good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
These things are so delicious, and they are devoured whenever I make them. I followed other suggestions and reduced the sugar to 1 cup. The last time I made them, I added 1/2 tsp ground ginger to the cinnamon/butter mixture, and everyone said it tasted even better. I might go as high as 1 tsp ginger next time, but will definitely add ginger to them in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I made this exactly as the instructions are given and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Changed it up a bit. I cut the white sugar out completely and added 1/2 cup stevia & 1/2 cup brown sugar to the mix, switched out the regular soda for diet, and used whatever apples I had on hand (Apple Crisp & Gala). This was so darn tasty, even better knowing it didn't have all those extra calories! I'm sure how ever you tweak this recipe it won't alter the deliciousness of the original. It's that good! Definitely worth keeping AND sharing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Very easy to follow directions but can also easily be added to to expand recipe to needed amount. Excellent with cream cheese and sugar mixture wrapped with apple under crescent roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Such an easy and delicious recipe! I made it for thanksgiving and have been asked to make it thrice already! I cut down on the white sugar a bit and replaced with light brown sugar to give it a slightly molasses-like flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Made with honeycrisp apples, there is nothing better you can do with an apple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
After reading several reviews, we cut the sugar to one cup and only used 8oz Mt. Dew. Still needs a little tweaking, but man these are YUMMY! We will peel the apples next time and season the apples with cinnamon and sugar before baking. I think then, it will be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrapper9494

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Edgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very good. I followed Cookin in Holland's suggestions and that made this perfect. We don't eat this type of food often, but I wanted to try this unique recipe and I'm glad I did. I didn't really expect great results using canned crescent rolls and Mountain Dew, but I was surprised how great this was. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
As much as I love butter, the quantity called for here is much more than is necessary or, in my humble opinion, desired. The same goes for the sugar, where 1/2-cup is more than a plenty. Think about it. There are 24 tablespoons of sugar in 1-1/2 cups, so that's 1-1/2 tablespoons of sugar for each 1/8-wedge of apple wrapped in canned crescent-roll dough, and that doesn't include the sugar in the Mountain Dew. I'd also suggest the recipe is more complex than necessary. I have a burner-proof deep-dish pie plate. A pie tin would work, as well. I melt my butter in the pie plate on the stove top, add the sugar, cinnamon and Mountain Dew once the butter is melted, and transfer the syrup off the stove top. Then I preheat my oven, put together the apples and crescent-roll dough, place the dough covered apples in the warm syrup, and put the dish in the oven to bake as directed. Note also that a cup of water and the juice of half a lemon or lime is a healthy alternative to the carbonated soda pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States