Mountain Apple Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
OMG So good :) Will be making this again. My boyfriend almost ate them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
DELICIOUS!!!!I had small granny smith apples cut into small wedges. I reduced the white sugar and then divided it with brown sugar. I used mt. Dew; everyone was surprised when I told them it was in there! I suggest making this dessert the day before and then heating it up when needed. It was so much better after setting overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyrts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Oh my word! This is out of this world good!! I did use sprite instead of mt dew because it's what I had. Everybody should try it at least once. Serve it with vanilla ice cream!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Yes! It's been a hit at our house for 2-3 years. I've used peaches when in season, and have also tried pears. I've used Ginger Ale instead of Mountain Dew. I do cut the suger to 1 cup and use 1/2 brown and 1/2 white. It's delish! And easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
These were a hit at our church luncheon. I did make a few changes that people suggested in earlier reviews: I cut up four apples instead of two and coated them with a mixture of 1/2 brown sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tbsp almond extract, and juice from half of a lemon. I did let them sit overnight in the fridge. Instead of using all of that white sugar, I toned it down a notch with 1/2 cup brown sugar & 1/2 c white sugar. I added only 10 oz. Sierra Mist. I used the 2 extra apples and laid them around the sides of the dumplings. These were super delicious and gone in a flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Yes, this is a delicious dish. My husband said he would give it 15 stars. Made just as written. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Very good overall but a little cloying if one follows the recipe exactly. I recommend using a lot less sugar and it would be a good idea to cut up the apple wedges as well. It was just easier to maintain the crescent shape that way -- if you're concerned about aesthetics of course. I also plan to use something other than Mountain Dew next time. It added unnecessary sweetness, which was ample already. Perhaps a lemon lime soda that's more tart and less sweet would work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Made this yesterday during our community "4th of July" celebration and won first prize with it! I never made a cobbler before and saw your recipe which looked wonderful and I love anything with apples. It was easy, fast and obviously a WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I tried a friend's recipe and it was awesome. It is melt in your mouth good. I could not believe that it had soda in it. However, she used Sprite. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Wow! The top crust was amazing, and the soft apple and flavorful syrup was terrific. We added a little milk at the bottom because my husbands family is from back east, and they like it that way. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States