Mountain Apple Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was great but I have a few suggestions that I hope will make it better. First, the appels could be cut a bit smaller. Next put about a 1/2 cup of brown suger in a bowl and add to that a teaspoon of cinnamon, about 3 or 4 tablespoons of a amaretto, and a teaspoon of vanilla. Mix them well together, then add the apples to this. Cover them well and let them stay in that a couple of hours before cooking. This is well worth the time, delicious. Next, when you have your butter melted add the suger and cinnamon to the pan and let the mixture melt together a bit. Becomes a smoother blend. Next, where I live Mountain Dew is not available so I used an orange soda and the result was also yummy. I will provide a photo next time I make this as mine looks very different from this one. I hope everyone enjoys these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin in Holland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This is good with splenda and diet mountain dew to make a diet dish that is better for diabetics My aunt gave this to my mom and we love the lighter version. great with ice cream or cool whip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Drumright, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I had apple cobbler and ice cream at the Virginia State Fair 2 days ago and I have been craving apple cobbler ever since. I'm more of an eater than a cook so I was looking for an easy way to duplicate my Fair experience. When reading the recipe I thought it would not be as good but I figured I'd give it a shot. WOW!! This was perfect, from start to finish my wife and I were eating in about an hour and a half. The prep time is almost nil and let it let me enjoy the eating part so much sooner than other recipes I found. I will try others but for a quick desert to make after a long days work there probably isnt anything as good for so little effort! I used Butter Flake crescent rolls and no other substitutions and Butter Pecan ice cream! I also threw on some pecans before shoving it in the oven. I wasnt to keen on using Mountain Dew but the Dew does what its supposed to dew! :) I highly recommend this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Lover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I have made these for a good while now. You can also use cheap canned biscuits...just roll them out with a rolling pin a little, they work great, and you can pocket the extra money that cresent rolls cost. Oh yes...we always called them Apple Dumplings. Ü
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IPlayOutsideTheBox

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Absolutely delicious!!!! I drizzled caramel topping and added chopped pecans. I also did some adjustments on the sugar. I did 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar total - 1 cup. It was a total hit at my house. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This dessert is wonderful served with ice cream. It's a great idea, when they are fresh from the oven, to let them sit for about 10 minutes to absorb some of the juice in the pan. I have even cut down on the sugar as it's a little overwhelmingly sweet. Wonderful and simply easy could sum up this recipe. I have been making these for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This is a very easy recipe. This makes a nearly PERFECT cobbler. I have been searching for years trying to find out how to get the liquid on my cobbler to a thick consistency. Never thought a can of soda could help do that. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and used butter flake crescent rolls in my cobbler - very buttery and tasty. The only thing this recipe lacked was a couple of teaspoons of fresh squeezed lemon juice, to give the cobbler just the right tang to balance out the sweet. Otherwise, nearly perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
One of my most favorite desserts. You can get away with using margerine and half (or more) the amount called for. I've also cut the sugar down to over half and used brown. Also great with apple pie spice or pumpkin pie spice. Great cheap dessert and AWESOME with frozen yogurt or low-cal ice cream.....to cut the sweetness. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
So easy and very good! Followed others suggestions...cut out some of the sugar. I used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Cut butter back to 1/2 cup. Topped with oats. Everyone loved it! Will use a little lemon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made this for hubby last night for dinner...and Oh MY was this go od!! I halved the recipe, and now I'm wishing I hadn't! This was absolutely delicious!! I will definitely be making this again. It's tasty enough that I would entertain with it as well...and so simple to....took maybe 10 minutes to prepare! Thank you so much for sharing this gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States