Mountain Apple Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very good. I followed Cookin in Holland's suggestions and that made this perfect. We don't eat this type of food often, but I wanted to try this unique recipe and I'm glad I did. I didn't really expect great results using canned crescent rolls and Mountain Dew, but I was surprised how great this was. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I've made this for longer than I can remember and I do a couple of things differently...first I use 2 cans of crescents which is 16 triangles, then I use 4 very flavorful apples (fugi, Braeburn, gala) and peel core and quarter them, then wrap each chunk in a triangle of dough and lay them seam side down in a 9x13 glass pan ( they might look a little odd and lumpy but they don't after baking.) Here's the trick to the most delicious cobbler..measure 1 1/2 cups of bottled apple juice or cider into a small pan, add 1/2 stick of butter, 1/2 cup of sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp. vanilla extract and bring to a boil.. Watch it, this will boil over easily.. Then pour all of the syrup over the roll ups, making sure each one is drizzled with the syrup, this will make them lovely crispy and brown. Bake at 350* for about 30 minutes open oven door and sprinkle generously with turbinado sugar ( this adds a sparkle and crunch to the crust)or regular granulated sugar, then bake until brown and bubbly. Let cool for at least 1/2 hour then serve with ice cream, whipped cream or fresh cream and enjoy:) they're really delish the next day too, if they survive that long..yummy! And by the way we always called them dumplings:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I thought this was delicious. Even as left overs for the next few days. But when it comes out fresh, it is SO good. Guilty food pleasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J SC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Really really sweet, but my husband and 3 year old really seemed to enjoy this dish. Too sweet for my taste, but a very interesting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
OH MY GOD!!!! Is all I can say
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Okay just made this but made changes... Only had Braeburn apples cut smaller and put several in each, before I rolled them up put cinnamon on them with a bit of sugar, I only used 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I sprinkled the sugars and cinnamon over the rolled up apples evenly poured the butter over that. I did not have Mountain Dew so I used a can of diet cranberry 7 up. My 10 year just had one and loved it! So many changes but it is a very workable recipe experiment with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Tate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
OMG So good :) Will be making this again. My boyfriend almost ate them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
DELICIOUS!!!!I had small granny smith apples cut into small wedges. I reduced the white sugar and then divided it with brown sugar. I used mt. Dew; everyone was surprised when I told them it was in there! I suggest making this dessert the day before and then heating it up when needed. It was so much better after setting overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyrts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Oh my word! This is out of this world good!! I did use sprite instead of mt dew because it's what I had. Everybody should try it at least once. Serve it with vanilla ice cream!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookhaven, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Foley, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Yes! It's been a hit at our house for 2-3 years. I've used peaches when in season, and have also tried pears. I've used Ginger Ale instead of Mountain Dew. I do cut the suger to 1 cup and use 1/2 brown and 1/2 white. It's delish! And easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States