Mound Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
Easy and delicious. I add a bit of green food coloring to the condensed milk and coconut for the Christmas holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I make these bars every year for Christmas as they are awesome. I agree that the coconut is hard to spread without breaking the graham cracker crust, but have found a simple solution. As soon as you pull them out of the oven after baking the coconut, I use the flat side of a spoon, sprayed with cooking spray and smooth out the coconut. The coconut mix is now more pliable, now that it is hot. I finish recipe as follows. I even sometimes sprinkle a few slivered almonds on top top make them like Alomnd Joys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saukville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Belgium, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
I brought these to a cookout and they were the hit of the dessert table! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Every time I make these I get asked by people which bakery I got them from! Even people who hate coconut love these bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I made this recipe first last Christmas. Made the second batch that same night. My helpers in the family downed the first one. I wish I could rate this higher
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
These tasted excelent, although next time I will use double the coconut and condenced milk. I don't think there was enough. Also this is kind of a pain to make. It was very difficult to spread the coconut mixture on the grahm cracker crust because it keept wanting to break up, but the end product was worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
All I can say is WOW! My husband wanted his Mom's Mounds bars - but after tasting these - he will never go back. I added milk to the choc chips and microwaved them which cut down on time on an already quick and easy recipe! LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
We LOVED these! Thankyou for sharing!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I made this for my family at Christmas and everyone loved it and begged for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I LOVE LOVE LOVE these bars!!! I get asked for the recipe every single time I take it anywhere. They taste like a candy bar -- so incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States