Mound Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I make these bars every year for Christmas as they are awesome. I agree that the coconut is hard to spread without breaking the graham cracker crust, but have found a simple solution. As soon as you pull them out of the oven after baking the coconut, I use the flat side of a spoon, sprayed with cooking spray and smooth out the coconut. The coconut mix is now more pliable, now that it is hot. I finish recipe as follows. I even sometimes sprinkle a few slivered almonds on top top make them like Alomnd Joys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saukville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Belgium, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Great! I did not add the sugar to the graham cracker crust. I always wonder why the extra sugar when there is already sugar in the graham crumbs. Anyway, it was plenty sweet enough. I also, as suggested by another reviewer, spread the coconut on thop of the hot crust and then poured the condensed milk on top of that and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
These bars are delicious! My grandmother has been making them for years and they are a family favorite. I would highly recommend substituting Hershey's chocolate bars for the choc. chips. Not only do they add great flavor, but they create a smooth top on the bars. Add 6 unwrapped bars after they come out of the oven. The bars will naturally melt over the coconut/milk mixture. You can then smooth it out over the top. My mom recommends to score the bars with a sharp knife before they fully set up. This way you can get nice clean slices. Also, I love these bars chilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
To fix the spreading problem others have mentioned. I put the coconut over the graham base and then poured the milk on top directly from the can. Wait a few mins and it is all mixed. I also added almonds on top and drizzled the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Awesome bars! I made them in a smaller pan so they would come out thicker. I added 1 tsp. coconut extract to the S.C. milk to intensify the coconut flavor. I also added 1 Tbsp. vegetable oil to the chocolate chips to make it easier to cut after they set. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Easy, quick recipe that the family loved...I added about a tablespoon of vegetable oil to the chocolate chips and microwaved them to make cutting a bit easier later on. Thanks Annie added this one to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARLEYCAT2001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
The taste is way better than any mounds bar I've ever had but it need few changes. The coconut mixture just wasn't enough to spread out with out tearing up the crust so I doubled it but next time I will just increase it by another half. I melted the chips in a doubled boiler and it cooled to quick to spread well so I made another cup or so to cove it. It does sink down in to the coconut mixture. When it cooled it was hard and turned out a little on the thick side which made it hard to cut. next time I will stick with the original chocolate amount but I will and 1/3 of a bar of paraffin wax which will make it not only easier to spread but will keep it soft when you try to cut into bars. if you don't have wax I highly suggest you precut through the chocolate when it is half way cooled to allow you cut it when its fully cooled without you breaking any chocolate. I am not a fan of coconut (I don't even like Samoa's girl scout cookies) But this recipe is so good I had to immediately package up as my as I could to send to my sister in Iraq to stop from eating them. This is surely something I will take to work to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Very rich & good. Use more of the coconut mixture, less graham cracker. I made the coconut smooth more easily by layering the coconut first, then slopping the milk over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Great! I added 2 2/3 cups of coconut and used milk chocolate chips because I think that taste much better than semi-sweet chocolate. If you have lumps in the chocolate it is either because you let it cool and you need to slightly re-heat or you over-heated it. I highly suggest using Hersheys milk chocolate in the form of either chocolate chips, or candy bars. I never had any problems spreading the coconut over the bottom layer. I can see where it would break, but try to pour the mixture all over as best as possible and not just in the center. Spread is gently and carefully. Best served cold or cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
Easy and delicious. I add a bit of green food coloring to the condensed milk and coconut for the Christmas holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States