Mound Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I also found the coconut mixture difficult to spread dropped by spoonful on to crust then warmed in the oven for a few minutes ,much easier to spread ,also will melt chocolate topping with a little heavy cream or oil next time chocolate it was hard and difficult to cut without chocolate breaking but the taste was heavenly will def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
These bars are fantastic! I added a bit of peanut butter to the crust mixture (about 2 TB) and a few TB of peanut butter to the melted chocolate mixture (this keeps it from hardening too quickly without having to add oil or shortening. It also gives a nice peanut butter flavor). After baking the crust, I let it cool and then refrigerated for 15 minutes. This prevented the crust from breaking up when I spread the coconut mixture on top. Also, the coconut mixture becomes very easy to spread after it has warmed a bit. I took the bars out of the oven and spread the coconut mixture more evenly over the crust and then continued baking. I made these for Easter, but my family has already devoured the first batch, so it looks like i'll be making some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Amherst, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This is exactly the same as "Magic Cookie" bars, minus the chopped walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
These were pretty good, but like others have said, i prefer the 7layer magic cookie bars. I almost doubled the amount of coconut and sweetened milk, and i think it was a good amount. I also just sprinkled the chocolate over the hot topping, placed back in the oven for 2 min, and then spread it out and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I love this recipe!! So good...I made this in an 8 by 8 pan, used a whole bag of coconut which I put down first over the hot crust. I then put the SCM over the coconut.. I kind of mixed it into the cocout... Baked it and then I put on a whole bag of milk chocolate/peanut butter chips, I put it back into oven to melt, then I spreader the chips, so good! Thanks for the recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
These are FABULOUS! They are also super easy!! I had chocolate graham crackers so I used those instead of regular. I also added a little extra butter since the mixture seemed a little dry and crumbly. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz McNulty
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This recipe is super easy I got so many requests to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Excellent! To avoid the problem some had with spreading the coconut layer on top of the graham crackers I poured the coconut/sweetened condensed milk on, stuck it in the oven for a few minutes, pulled it back out and easily spread the warmed mixture around. I sprinkled sliced almonds on top of the chocolate. They are really, really tasty. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
sooooo freaking good! hubs took some to work and everyone flipped over them! next time, i'd use a smaller pan to make bigger/thicker bars - other than that, definitely sprinkle coconut on top of crust and pour condensed milk on top of that! so much easier ;) added chocolate chips and baked for another 2 mins - placed them in the freezer for easier cutting! it's definitely in the dessert rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anah Pham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
EVIL GOOD!! I made them for Valentine's Day and they were a big hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States