Mound Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made these bars because some of the photos look so good, but my bars were thin and did not resemble the photos at all. Now I've gone back to read the reviews of the photos I've admired to see that the bars were modified by baking in a smaller pan to get thicker bars and by increasing the coconut and/or chocolate layers. As written, these bars are way too sweet, and I didn't even add the white sugar to the crust. If I were to make them again, I would tone down the sweetness even more. I'd eliminate the white sugar, use unsweetened coconut, use more coconut (but not increase the sweetened condensed milk with it), and bake them in a smaller pan. You really have to have a sweet tooth to like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made these for Easter yesterday! They were SO good! My second batch I topped with sliced almonds and made them Almond Joy Bars. Great Recipe and thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Di

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Super amazing!!!! If you don't have a double boiler than you can do what i did and after you take the bars out of the oven with the coconut on, then you can sprinkle the chips on top then put it in the oven (turn the oven off). When they have been in there for a little bit I took them out and just spread the chips around. These are like so amazing though make sure to make 2 batches because you will eat them up right away!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Wow! Too sweet. The sweet condensed milk and the chocolate is just a bit too much. Don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Easy to make. Easy to eat. I used milk chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
These are delicious! I put the coconut on top of the crackers and then just poured the condensed milk over it, and it worked just fine. I also used Hershey bars for the top, but I wish I hadn't; the sweetness of the bars was a bit too much. Semisweet chocolate, as the recipe states, would probably have tasted better. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Doubled the coconut layer as one reviewer suggested, and my family loves it! I'm just hoping the pan lasts long enough for their dad to get home and try one! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Danube, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Granite Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I also found the coconut mixture difficult to spread dropped by spoonful on to crust then warmed in the oven for a few minutes ,much easier to spread ,also will melt chocolate topping with a little heavy cream or oil next time chocolate it was hard and difficult to cut without chocolate breaking but the taste was heavenly will def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
These bars are fantastic! I added a bit of peanut butter to the crust mixture (about 2 TB) and a few TB of peanut butter to the melted chocolate mixture (this keeps it from hardening too quickly without having to add oil or shortening. It also gives a nice peanut butter flavor). After baking the crust, I let it cool and then refrigerated for 15 minutes. This prevented the crust from breaking up when I spread the coconut mixture on top. Also, the coconut mixture becomes very easy to spread after it has warmed a bit. I took the bars out of the oven and spread the coconut mixture more evenly over the crust and then continued baking. I made these for Easter, but my family has already devoured the first batch, so it looks like i'll be making some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Amherst, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This is exactly the same as "Magic Cookie" bars, minus the chopped walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States