Mound Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
To make this much faster: Just use graham crackers right out of the box! Lay them on the bottom of a 9x13 pan then follow the recipe as if that's your cooked base! You may have to reduce the topping, or spread it over 2 cookie sheets of graham crackers, depends how dense you like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
These were so good and very easy to make! Everyone loved them,I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennmack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
These are delicious, but the difficulty in making dropped the rating a bit. I could barely make the graham cracker mix spread far enough for a 9x13, the same went for the chocolate. If I were to make these again, I'd either do a 8x8 pan and half the coconut mixture... or I'd double the graham cracker crust and the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reedsport, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
These are great! I still used a 9 by 13 pan. I omitted the sugar from the crust. I doubled the coconut and the condensed milk. The first time i made this i double the coconut but not the milk but some parts didn't hold too well. So now i used one can of sweetened and one can unsweetened. Like others suggest, its so much easier to just drizzle the milk over the coconut. I put the semisweet chips on top and popped it back into the oven for a couple minutes and spread it over the coconut. I topped with shaved almonds. My husbands co workers rave over this recipe. It's sweet but not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vella_marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
My kids & I (they're 9 & 10) thought this was way too rich with all of the chocolate. We decided that next time we will use more coconut and just drizzle the chocolate over the top -- maybe use half of the recommended amount. We did follow the recommendation to put the coconut down and then pour the sweetened condensed milk on top, and that worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Love this recipe. These were quick and easy to make. I used dark chocolate chips which gave them a rich chocolate taste. I will definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made these bars because some of the photos look so good, but my bars were thin and did not resemble the photos at all. Now I've gone back to read the reviews of the photos I've admired to see that the bars were modified by baking in a smaller pan to get thicker bars and by increasing the coconut and/or chocolate layers. As written, these bars are way too sweet, and I didn't even add the white sugar to the crust. If I were to make them again, I would tone down the sweetness even more. I'd eliminate the white sugar, use unsweetened coconut, use more coconut (but not increase the sweetened condensed milk with it), and bake them in a smaller pan. You really have to have a sweet tooth to like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made these for Easter yesterday! They were SO good! My second batch I topped with sliced almonds and made them Almond Joy Bars. Great Recipe and thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Di

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Super amazing!!!! If you don't have a double boiler than you can do what i did and after you take the bars out of the oven with the coconut on, then you can sprinkle the chips on top then put it in the oven (turn the oven off). When they have been in there for a little bit I took them out and just spread the chips around. These are like so amazing though make sure to make 2 batches because you will eat them up right away!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Wow! Too sweet. The sweet condensed milk and the chocolate is just a bit too much. Don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States