Mound Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I really like this recipe (as have all my roommates), but modified it, and will do so even more next time around. I would add more condensed milk and coconut, so that the coconut layer can be evenly spread over the crust. I added milk, because I did not have any more condensed milk, and that worked all right. I also added coconut rum (3 tbs each) to both the coconut filling and the chocolate topping. This made them both easier to spread and added to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I will never make this again…I followed the recipe and you can’t spread the coconut concoction you have to use small spoonfuls and line them up because when you bake it, it evens out! My crust tasted burnt! They are not worth the trouble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Loved these, I made it per recipe the first time, second time I topped it with ganache cooled enough to spread and it was easier to bite....great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Excellent...took them to work and my coworkers couldn't stop eating them. I added almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
To make this much faster: Just use graham crackers right out of the box! Lay them on the bottom of a 9x13 pan then follow the recipe as if that's your cooked base! You may have to reduce the topping, or spread it over 2 cookie sheets of graham crackers, depends how dense you like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
These were so good and very easy to make! Everyone loved them,I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennmack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
These are delicious, but the difficulty in making dropped the rating a bit. I could barely make the graham cracker mix spread far enough for a 9x13, the same went for the chocolate. If I were to make these again, I'd either do a 8x8 pan and half the coconut mixture... or I'd double the graham cracker crust and the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reedsport, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
These are great! I still used a 9 by 13 pan. I omitted the sugar from the crust. I doubled the coconut and the condensed milk. The first time i made this i double the coconut but not the milk but some parts didn't hold too well. So now i used one can of sweetened and one can unsweetened. Like others suggest, its so much easier to just drizzle the milk over the coconut. I put the semisweet chips on top and popped it back into the oven for a couple minutes and spread it over the coconut. I topped with shaved almonds. My husbands co workers rave over this recipe. It's sweet but not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vella_marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
My kids & I (they're 9 & 10) thought this was way too rich with all of the chocolate. We decided that next time we will use more coconut and just drizzle the chocolate over the top -- maybe use half of the recommended amount. We did follow the recommendation to put the coconut down and then pour the sweetened condensed milk on top, and that worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Love this recipe. These were quick and easy to make. I used dark chocolate chips which gave them a rich chocolate taste. I will definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States