Mound Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I used fat-free condensed milk, which I have found works just as good! The reasons this recipes gets 4 instead of 5: You MUST put the coconut mixture on hot, otherwise it is a crumbly mess. I think next time I will try just spreading out the coconut & then pouring the milk on top of it. I also felt these were very good, but I agree with another review that there is too much graham cracker crust (and I love graham cracker crust!). You also need to do something to chocolate so it will cut easier later, like add a tbsp. of vegetable oil. They are tasty and I would make them again, but once a year is plenty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Pretty good. Were hard to cut through. May want to set out prior to cutting. But overall they were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Great, easy recipe. My husband said these might be his new favorite cookie and he isn't even a coconut fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
So addicting! I halved the recipe and baked in my glass 1 1/2 qt dish. I followed recipe and did not add any sugar to the graham crumbs (you couldn't tell and it wasn't missed). I also, chopped some almonds and sprinkled over top the coconut mixture befor baking. I had dark choc and white choc chips on hand, so used those to sprinkle over the bars. very yummy and taste very close to the almond joy/mounds bars! :) YUMMY! I almost ate half the pan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very good. Boys like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Excellent, used another reviewer idea to place unbroken hershey bars on top as soon as it came out of the over and it worked great. Probably not the cheapest way but looked the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I'd give these 5 stars, but they weren't quite as PRETTY as I wanted them to be. I lined a 9x9 glass pan with parchment paper, with edges extended, and patted the crust on top of the paper. Didn't use any sugar for the crust. Baked at 350 for 20 minutes (I think that was my problem; I should have baked them longer). Then I did what practically everyone else did and sprinkled the coconut on top of the hot base and drizzled the SCM on top of that. Bake another 20 minutes (again, I think I should have left them in the oven a little longer). I finely chopped up 12 ounces of 60% cacao bittersweet Ghiradelli bars, and scattered them over the top of the (very nicely browned) coconut top, put back in the oven for 1-1/2 minutes, then used an offset spatula to spread the chocolate around. Easy peasy! Let cool in the pan for 1/2 an hour, then lifted the paper out onto a rack to cool an hour. The chocolate hadn't set up at all, so I refrigerated another hour, then cut into bars. My problem at that point was that the crust kind of fell apart, and I don't think the coconut filling was quite done (it was pretty thick). In spite of that, these were DELICIOUS, and I'd definitely make again. Taking these to work tomorrow...we'll see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Yum! My husband loved these so much he said they were better than an actual Mounds bar! This is a keeper - just make sure to use dark chocolate to stay true to the Mounds flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
These are amazing! I was kind of iffy about making them because my family doesn't like coconut very much but my husband requested that I save this recipe and make them more! They are so tasty and so easy to make. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States