Mound Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Creamy, chewy, chocolatey, deliciousness. This is one of those recipes that looks so much harder and fancier than it really is. I used chocolate graham crackers for the crust, and they only seemed to add to the fabulousness of these bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Needless to say, I love these ingredients but cutting sugar. This recipe is basically Magic Cookie Bars, made the hard way. Mixing coconut & sweetened condensed milk together & trying to spread it out, called for a way to make it easier to spread by one lady. No need, just do the layers: Melt butter in the pan in oven. No sugar is needed--GC crumbs already have sugar in them, so does flaked or shredded coconut & SC milk. Sprinkle graham crumbs over melted butter & press it out. You don't have to bake this crust separately either. Unless, you prefer it that way. My recipe's way, pours SC milk gently over whole crumb area--spreading a little,if needed. Add each remaining ingredient, pressing down on each layer, lightly to secure. I continue with this order: chocolate chips, coconut, & add nuts, if you like. MCB's call for nuts. Then bake, until golden, about 15-20 mins. The picture that is shown, with huge hunks of chocolate, would be too hard to eat & probably too rich, to suit me. If I made them that way, I would most likely cut into smaller squares or bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
These are absolutely delicious!! Supereasy to make and even people who do not like coconut cannot resist these! I made some of the similar changes mentioned before. I first laid the coconut onto the crust, and then drizzled the condensed milk on. I may put a little less condensed milk on next time or add more coconut to even out the ratio. My next goal is to experiment with different ingredients to try and make this a bit healthier because I cannot stop eating them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Yummy treats made for giving away but I had to eat one, or two. Okay maybe three. These have a great flavor and are easy to make. The crumb mixture maybe needs more butter to bind it better so it doesn't crumble as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I made these 2x. The first time I did follow the recipe for pan size, except I poured on the condensed milk & sprinkled the coconut on top & pressed in. I think it would be hard to spread mixture over the crust doing as directed. I also used mini chocolate chips as it covered more, there was barely anything to spread. The 2nd time I used 13 x 9 pan for a thicker cookie/candy. Baked the crust for 10 minutes, spread on the coconut, I stuck in a handful of slivered almonds sort of on top & pressed in with spoon & baked 18 min. more. I liked the thickness in a 13 x 9 & they were delicious. I spread 3/4 bag of a 12 oz. chocolate mini chips on top. You can easly used less when using mini chips, but I love my chocolate.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Amazing i made them for my family and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
These were SOOOOO good! I made the crust, then schlopped on the coconut/milk mixture and sorta smoothed it out. It is difficult to do cold, but the warm crust helped. I baked it again per directions, but took it out after 10 minutes or so and spread the coconut out more. I wound up having to sprinkle a bit more coconut on top, so you may want to add 1/2 a cup more to the milk mixture to begin with. I topped with sliced almonds and let setup overnight before cutting. DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Boog
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Pretty moist and good, followed other suggestions to just spread the coconut down then the milk , added chopped almonds on top of chocolate, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
These bars were amazing!! I made them to give to my mom and mother-in-law for Mother's Day since they are both big fans of coconut. I sampled one and made sure I left a few for hubby and I. I will definitely make them again!! But, I may not be sharing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States