Mound Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
These were SOOOOO good! I made the crust, then schlopped on the coconut/milk mixture and sorta smoothed it out. It is difficult to do cold, but the warm crust helped. I baked it again per directions, but took it out after 10 minutes or so and spread the coconut out more. I wound up having to sprinkle a bit more coconut on top, so you may want to add 1/2 a cup more to the milk mixture to begin with. I topped with sliced almonds and let setup overnight before cutting. DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Boog
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Pretty moist and good, followed other suggestions to just spread the coconut down then the milk , added chopped almonds on top of chocolate, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
These bars were amazing!! I made them to give to my mom and mother-in-law for Mother's Day since they are both big fans of coconut. I sampled one and made sure I left a few for hubby and I. I will definitely make them again!! But, I may not be sharing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This was fantastic! I didn't have enough graham cracker crumbs so I used some crushed vanilla wafers and that had a wonderful, interesting taste. I also tried substituting the coconut for coconut marshmallows (which I melted in the microwave first and then mixed with the condensed milk) and that gave it a splendid gooey texture. Although it was hard to cut! Either way this is definitely one of my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
These are super good and really easy. I followed the reviews of some of the rewiewers and spread coconut over graham cracker base and then drizzled sweetened condensed milk over coconut. After baking the second time I turned oven off scattered chocolate chips over coconut and then put back in oven for a few minutes. Pulled it out of the oven and easily spread melted chocolate to smooth. I will make these a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These are very tasty, but a little messy to make. I think there is too much graham cracker crust for the recipe. It's hard to spread the coconut mixture. Instead of melting the chocolate chips, I sprinkled them over the top then stuck the pan back in the oven for a few minutes, spread them when I took the pan out. To make cutting easier I put my entire pan in the freezer for about 30 minutes after it cooled, then cut into bars. Much easier and neater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These are delicious but would have been too sweet for my family. Didn't add sugar to the graham crackers and used a smaller bag of chocolate chips. I solved the chocolate spredability issue! When the bars come out of the oven (after the coconut layer) sprinkle the chips on to evenly, and put back in the oven (with it turned off) for a couple of minutes. When you take it out, they spread beautifully and easily! Also, one less bowl to clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I used fat-free condensed milk, which I have found works just as good! The reasons this recipes gets 4 instead of 5: You MUST put the coconut mixture on hot, otherwise it is a crumbly mess. I think next time I will try just spreading out the coconut & then pouring the milk on top of it. I also felt these were very good, but I agree with another review that there is too much graham cracker crust (and I love graham cracker crust!). You also need to do something to chocolate so it will cut easier later, like add a tbsp. of vegetable oil. They are tasty and I would make them again, but once a year is plenty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Pretty good. Were hard to cut through. May want to set out prior to cutting. But overall they were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States