Mound Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Creamy, chewy, chocolatey, deliciousness. This is one of those recipes that looks so much harder and fancier than it really is. I used chocolate graham crackers for the crust, and they only seemed to add to the fabulousness of these bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Needless to say, I love these ingredients but cutting sugar. This recipe is basically Magic Cookie Bars, made the hard way. Mixing coconut & sweetened condensed milk together & trying to spread it out, called for a way to make it easier to spread by one lady. No need, just do the layers: Melt butter in the pan in oven. No sugar is needed--GC crumbs already have sugar in them, so does flaked or shredded coconut & SC milk. Sprinkle graham crumbs over melted butter & press it out. You don't have to bake this crust separately either. Unless, you prefer it that way. My recipe's way, pours SC milk gently over whole crumb area--spreading a little,if needed. Add each remaining ingredient, pressing down on each layer, lightly to secure. I continue with this order: chocolate chips, coconut, & add nuts, if you like. MCB's call for nuts. Then bake, until golden, about 15-20 mins. The picture that is shown, with huge hunks of chocolate, would be too hard to eat & probably too rich, to suit me. If I made them that way, I would most likely cut into smaller squares or bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
These are absolutely delicious!! Supereasy to make and even people who do not like coconut cannot resist these! I made some of the similar changes mentioned before. I first laid the coconut onto the crust, and then drizzled the condensed milk on. I may put a little less condensed milk on next time or add more coconut to even out the ratio. My next goal is to experiment with different ingredients to try and make this a bit healthier because I cannot stop eating them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Yummy treats made for giving away but I had to eat one, or two. Okay maybe three. These have a great flavor and are easy to make. The crumb mixture maybe needs more butter to bind it better so it doesn't crumble as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I made these 2x. The first time I did follow the recipe for pan size, except I poured on the condensed milk & sprinkled the coconut on top & pressed in. I think it would be hard to spread mixture over the crust doing as directed. I also used mini chocolate chips as it covered more, there was barely anything to spread. The 2nd time I used 13 x 9 pan for a thicker cookie/candy. Baked the crust for 10 minutes, spread on the coconut, I stuck in a handful of slivered almonds sort of on top & pressed in with spoon & baked 18 min. more. I liked the thickness in a 13 x 9 & they were delicious. I spread 3/4 bag of a 12 oz. chocolate mini chips on top. You can easly used less when using mini chips, but I love my chocolate.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Amazing i made them for my family and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
These were SOOOOO good! I made the crust, then schlopped on the coconut/milk mixture and sorta smoothed it out. It is difficult to do cold, but the warm crust helped. I baked it again per directions, but took it out after 10 minutes or so and spread the coconut out more. I wound up having to sprinkle a bit more coconut on top, so you may want to add 1/2 a cup more to the milk mixture to begin with. I topped with sliced almonds and let setup overnight before cutting. DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Boog
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Pretty moist and good, followed other suggestions to just spread the coconut down then the milk , added chopped almonds on top of chocolate, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
These bars were amazing!! I made them to give to my mom and mother-in-law for Mother's Day since they are both big fans of coconut. I sampled one and made sure I left a few for hubby and I. I will definitely make them again!! But, I may not be sharing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States