Mound Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
These are crazy good! To cut down on dishes, I poured the condensed milk over the baked crust and sprinkled the coconut on top. Once that was baked, I just evenly sprinkled the chocolate chips over the top and popped it back in the oven for a minute or so to melt. Then, I very gently spread the chocolate. They came out perfectly layered and I had no problems cutting them with a metal spatula. They came right out of my glass baking dish that I had sprayed with non-stick spray. I will definitely make these again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mia Poulsen
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Great bars, but gets nasty after eating one normal piece. Need to cut into more small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia Poulsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
These are excellent with a little tweaking. I did not mix the cracker crumbs, sugar and butter, but rather melted the butter (I used a bit more than called for) in the pan in the oven, omitted the sugar completely, and just sprinkled the crumbs on top of the melted butter, pressed it down a bit, then let it bake. I almost doubled the coconut filling amount, using 3 1/2 cups of coconut (I chopped the flaked coconut in the processor to make it finer and more like real Mound Bars), sprinkled it atop the baked graham crust and poured 2 - 14 oz. cans of sweetened condensed milk over the coconut. Of course, it took much longer to bake (about 25 minutes). Once the filling set up, I just sprinkled the chocolate chips (tossed with about 1 1/2 Tbs. vegetable oil) evenly over it; put it back in the turned off oven and let the chips melt. I then spread the melted chocolate over all with an offset spatula (quite easy). I let it cool to room tempertature then refrigerated for about 2 hours before cutting into small bars (they cut very easily). They are absolutely delicious, especially with a hot cup of espresso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
These are delicious! I gave them 4 stars instead of 5 because I think they could be even better. I would 1 1/2 times the coconut and sweetened condensed milk & double the chocolate chips so the chocolate covers everything better. They taste delicious as written, but are even better if you make the changes above. Also, I found it easier to sprinkle the coconut over the warm graham crust and then drizzle the milk over the coconut instead of trying to mix them together first. I've made these twice now and will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Really good. I made it according to directions, mixing the coconut and the sweetened condensed milk. Baked the coconut for about five minutes and then spread it. Topped it with chocolate chips and almonds. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Everyone loved them. I followed one a reviewer's advice and poured the milk over the coconut and added a tbsp. of oil to the chocolate chips to spread more easily. The only problem that I had was that the graham cracker crumbs on the very bottom were still crumbly and didn't hold. But I'll maybe add a little more butter next time. Great recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsacb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Creamy, chewy, chocolatey, deliciousness. This is one of those recipes that looks so much harder and fancier than it really is. I used chocolate graham crackers for the crust, and they only seemed to add to the fabulousness of these bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Needless to say, I love these ingredients but cutting sugar. This recipe is basically Magic Cookie Bars, made the hard way. Mixing coconut & sweetened condensed milk together & trying to spread it out, called for a way to make it easier to spread by one lady. No need, just do the layers: Melt butter in the pan in oven. No sugar is needed--GC crumbs already have sugar in them, so does flaked or shredded coconut & SC milk. Sprinkle graham crumbs over melted butter & press it out. You don't have to bake this crust separately either. Unless, you prefer it that way. My recipe's way, pours SC milk gently over whole crumb area--spreading a little,if needed. Add each remaining ingredient, pressing down on each layer, lightly to secure. I continue with this order: chocolate chips, coconut, & add nuts, if you like. MCB's call for nuts. Then bake, until golden, about 15-20 mins. The picture that is shown, with huge hunks of chocolate, would be too hard to eat & probably too rich, to suit me. If I made them that way, I would most likely cut into smaller squares or bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
These are absolutely delicious!! Supereasy to make and even people who do not like coconut cannot resist these! I made some of the similar changes mentioned before. I first laid the coconut onto the crust, and then drizzled the condensed milk on. I may put a little less condensed milk on next time or add more coconut to even out the ratio. My next goal is to experiment with different ingredients to try and make this a bit healthier because I cannot stop eating them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States