Mound Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
THE BEST DESSERT I'VE EVER HAD IN MY LIFE. HANDS DOWN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MillsyCooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Excellent recipe - these went over great at work. I was intent on making these when I realized I did not have sweetened condensed milk. I googled for a substitute and found I could make a can's worth with 2 eggs, 1 C brown sugar, 2T flour, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/4 tsp salt and that I did. This was so decadently good. Also, I didn't have graham crackers to crush, so I used Annie's bunny graham crackers and omitted the sugar in the crust. Would make exactly this way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I have made these and they are great, but instead of chocolate chips. I just place a few milk chocolate bars on top of the coconut when it is done baking, let it melt for a few seconds and spread, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I was looking to find a recipe as close as possible to what my grandmother made, and this is them! She had called them three-layer squares, but this is essentially them! They are my father's favorite so I made them at Christmas and he and my aunt were thrilled with them. I think this is a fantastic recipe and I will be baking them every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
These are crazy good! To cut down on dishes, I poured the condensed milk over the baked crust and sprinkled the coconut on top. Once that was baked, I just evenly sprinkled the chocolate chips over the top and popped it back in the oven for a minute or so to melt. Then, I very gently spread the chocolate. They came out perfectly layered and I had no problems cutting them with a metal spatula. They came right out of my glass baking dish that I had sprayed with non-stick spray. I will definitely make these again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miaka
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Great bars, but gets nasty after eating one normal piece. Need to cut into more small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miaka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
These are excellent with a little tweaking. I did not mix the cracker crumbs, sugar and butter, but rather melted the butter (I used a bit more than called for) in the pan in the oven, omitted the sugar completely, and just sprinkled the crumbs on top of the melted butter, pressed it down a bit, then let it bake. I almost doubled the coconut filling amount, using 3 1/2 cups of coconut (I chopped the flaked coconut in the processor to make it finer and more like real Mound Bars), sprinkled it atop the baked graham crust and poured 2 - 14 oz. cans of sweetened condensed milk over the coconut. Of course, it took much longer to bake (about 25 minutes). Once the filling set up, I just sprinkled the chocolate chips (tossed with about 1 1/2 Tbs. vegetable oil) evenly over it; put it back in the turned off oven and let the chips melt. I then spread the melted chocolate over all with an offset spatula (quite easy). I let it cool to room tempertature then refrigerated for about 2 hours before cutting into small bars (they cut very easily). They are absolutely delicious, especially with a hot cup of espresso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
These are delicious! I gave them 4 stars instead of 5 because I think they could be even better. I would 1 1/2 times the coconut and sweetened condensed milk & double the chocolate chips so the chocolate covers everything better. They taste delicious as written, but are even better if you make the changes above. Also, I found it easier to sprinkle the coconut over the warm graham crust and then drizzle the milk over the coconut instead of trying to mix them together first. I've made these twice now and will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Really good. I made it according to directions, mixing the coconut and the sweetened condensed milk. Baked the coconut for about five minutes and then spread it. Topped it with chocolate chips and almonds. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Everyone loved them. I followed one a reviewer's advice and poured the milk over the coconut and added a tbsp. of oil to the chocolate chips to spread more easily. The only problem that I had was that the graham cracker crumbs on the very bottom were still crumbly and didn't hold. But I'll maybe add a little more butter next time. Great recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsacb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States