Mound Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I love these. I wanted to bake but had no flour? Crazy. These bars are very decadent - like eating a candy bar. I didn't mix the coconut with the condensed milk. I did what other suggested and just put the coconut on and then poured the milk over it and baked. It all melds in the oven. For the chocolate chips - I poured them on and popped the pan back in the oven for a minute or two and then spread the chocolate with a knife. I think next time I'm going to use milk chocolate instead of semi sweet. These are really good and really hit the spot for an afternoon sweet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lottieclottie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I'VE HAD THIS RECIPE FOR 30 YEARS, AND THE PROBLEM SPREADING THE COCONUT IS SOLVED BY HEATING THE CONDENSED MILK, THEN ADDING THE COCONUT TO THE MILK, RIGHT BEFORE SPREADING ON THE CRUST. THEN JUST FOLLOW THE RECIPE AS IS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Got several requests for this recipe after bringing it to a party! Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I thought these were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Recomend following changes. Skip the sugar and freeze or refrigerate overnight the graham cracker crust. Do not bake the crust before addition of coconut mixture. Mixture will spread smoothly over the chilled uncooked crust Bake 20 minutes at 350 and place Hersey Bars over still hot mixture. Spead after melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Everyone loved these, even though I didn't put enough butter in the crust and it all fell apart. I also left out the sugar and followed other reviews by pouring the condensed milk over the coconut and using chocolate bars on top. Popped them in the oven for 2 mins and the chocolate melted perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
They bars tasted good, but it was very difficult to spread the sweetened condensed milk and coconut over the graham cracker crust. The coconut mixture wouldn't spread properly, and it kept pulling up the graham cracker crust. I put them in the refrigerator to cool, but they were still difficult to cut. They would be fine for eating at home, but I was making them to give in a cookie tin for Christmas---and for that, the presentation of the bars were not attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Yummy! I used a 8x8 in. pan, used only 1 cup graham crackers, added an extra cup of coconut flakes, halfed the chocolate chips, and used the full amount of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happykimmyj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I followed the directions as stated however my graham cracker crust completly fell apart when I tried to spread the coconut mixture over it. It seems the coconut was too thick to stand up to the crust. Very disappointing! I don't know what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Tappan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is so yummy, but a bit hard to work with. I used a whole package of coconut which was 2-2/3 cups and the milk covered it good. I'm going to experiment with the chocolate part, I dropped choc chips on top of warm coconut and while it was warm everything was good. But when it cooled the choc chips fell off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States