Mound Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made these for every special occasion. They are quick to make and taste divine! I made a few changes to save time and mess: I cut out the sugar completely as the condensed milk is sweet enough, I spread the condensed milk on first and then put the coconut on top, pushing it down a bit with a spatula. This way I didn't have to deal with the sticky mess of the milk and coconut and saved a bowl! :) Also I put a whole bag of chocolate chips on top after it comes out of the oven the second time and cover the whole thing with foil. When its cooled down a bit, I use a spatula to even out the chocolate as it has now melted beautifully! I've also tried this recipe with mint chocolate on top and it was also SO good! yum! Thank you so much for posting this recipe...yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
always a big hit when I make these. much easier to spread coconut then pour the condensed milk over that. also don't bother melting the choc chips just sprinkle over top when just out of oven wait a couple minutes then spread then out smooth. Just do not do what I did last year, when in trying to make more than one thing at once I forgot that the pan had already been in the oven for the first layer after I spread the coconut and cond milk. Picked up pan with my bare hands! screamed in pain and dropped whole pan on floor (GLASS) can you say gooey mess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird1114

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Eliot, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipe is excellent, and easy to make except DO NOT use chocolate chips. Instead use 5 Hersey bars. The Hersey melts like a dream, the chocolate chips do not melt, they are a nightmare. This was a tip from another reviewer, and they were right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICADEZ
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Made these bars as a going away gift for a co-worker. I printed out 3 copies for the ladies, well everyone liked them so much they printed out more copies!!! They are delish and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
1. Sprinkle coconut evenly over baked cookie base then pour sweetened condensed milk evenly over top of that, no spreading required on that layer! 2. Sprinkle chocolate chips over baked coconut while it is still hot. Wait 5 min and then spread them with a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This was an easy recipe. It was very sweet. I liked the chewiness of the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Amazing!!!!! Followed recipe exactly and I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
THE BEST DESSERT I'VE EVER HAD IN MY LIFE. HANDS DOWN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MillsyCooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Excellent recipe - these went over great at work. I was intent on making these when I realized I did not have sweetened condensed milk. I googled for a substitute and found I could make a can's worth with 2 eggs, 1 C brown sugar, 2T flour, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/4 tsp salt and that I did. This was so decadently good. Also, I didn't have graham crackers to crush, so I used Annie's bunny graham crackers and omitted the sugar in the crust. Would make exactly this way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I have made these and they are great, but instead of chocolate chips. I just place a few milk chocolate bars on top of the coconut when it is done baking, let it melt for a few seconds and spread, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States