Mother's Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
I thought this recipe was way better than Awesome slow cooker pot roast. I load it up with potatoes and carrots to make it a more sustantial meal. I just throw everything in a slow cooker before I go to work on low and it is ready when we all get home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACALK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
VERY good roast! I used chuck roast and it turned out great. Per others, I did add a couple hearty dashes of all-season salt to the beef. Also, I didn't bother straining/making the gravy b/c the meat was so tender, it had already "shred" itself. With a side of "Baked Vegetables" and "Sweet Dinner Rolls" (both from this site) we ate until we we stuffed! Plan to use the little that's left of this stuff on sandwiches! Thanks for the great recipe J.Stewart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2000
One of the best slow-cooker pot roast recipes I have ever made. So easy and quick to put together and indeed makes the best gravy ever! I used a sirloin tip roast and will certainly make it again. The flavor is delicious without having to add many,many ingredients and spices. pc8
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Nice change from the usual dry or canned soup mix recipes! I used homemade tomato sauce I had put up from my garden, as well as a glug of red wine (Sangiovese), some minced garlic, fresh parsley and fresh oregano. The sauce was thinner than I would have liked after cooking, but rather than thickening it with flour I just transferred it to a saucepan and reduced it on the stovetop. The meat was tender and well-flavored and the reduced sauce was perfect tossed with pasta and grated Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Oh this was delicious. It was my first attempt at pot roast and it turned out great. I loved the tomato sauce! YUM! The gravy was thick enough too so I didn't need to add any flour. I did add spices and garlic to give it more flavour. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Surprisingly good!! My picky husband even liked it. I used a sirloin tip roast and cooked for 1.5 hours on high and 5-6 more hours on low. I do think it could use a little seasoning salt, which I will use next time. We served it over rice and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Recipe is amazingly delicious as is. Only change I made was I seasoned the meat with salt and pepper before placing in slow cooker. I used an eye round roast as it was on sale and I know it is a nice tender piece of meat. I also added some minced garlic and an extra bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This tasted terrible. WAY too much onion, and the bay leaves didn't mesh well with the other flavors. The meat came out extremely tough. I didn't even try to make gravy out of the sauce because it tasted so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This was wonderful tasting and the meat was so tender! I actually used a chuck roast - it was awesome and as good left over as when first served. I did add a little red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
The sauce was good but I added a bit of wine and it made it better. Apparently you don't use an Eye of Round roast. My roast was dry. Will try it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States