Mother's Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was very yummy. I seasoned the roast with seasoning salt and added some carrots about 1/2 way through. Served with fresh corn and brocoli over couscous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
The meat was so tender, it just fell off the bone and it had a nice flavor. It could've used so more seasonings, but it was great the way it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Plains, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Very tender & tasty. I didn't even do the gravy part & it was still good. My family likes a beef based gravy, but I love tomatoes so I'm giving it a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Oh this was delicious. It was my first attempt at pot roast and it turned out great. I loved the tomato sauce! YUM! The gravy was thick enough too so I didn't need to add any flour. I did add spices and garlic to give it more flavour. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizzibear
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This turned out perfectly!! So tastey and even though I added some salt and pepper to the top of the meat, I dont think it was needed since I put in red skinned potatoes and a whole bag of baby carrots. I made the gravy too and it was a perfect topper to a perfect meal. My husband was amazed and surprised. He didnt know I knew how to make a roast ;) Thanks so much for posting this recipe. Its awesome! *I followed everything as follows including the bay leaves too* Nothing ruined anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzibear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was excellent! I made some minor dietary modifications and substituted corn starch for the flour (my sister-in-law was over and she is avoiding wheat), and used diced tomatoes that I processed in the food processor in lieu of tomato sauce (I didn't have tomato sauce in the pantry). This was the best pot roast I have ever had AND this was the first time I have ever made pot roast. It was super good. This will definitely be added to my go-to list of dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Next time will use 1 bay leaf. Sauce was odd, but really good. Meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laidback

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This tasted terrible. WAY too much onion, and the bay leaves didn't mesh well with the other flavors. The meat came out extremely tough. I didn't even try to make gravy out of the sauce because it tasted so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This recipe was just not as good as most from this site. It needed more seasoning like garlic etc. I was not fond of the tomato in the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Jackson Bushon
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Finally my losing streak is over I made a good pot roast! The meat was tender and tasty. But no one liked the "gravy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY509

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States