Mother's Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was very yummy. I seasoned the roast with seasoning salt and added some carrots about 1/2 way through. Served with fresh corn and brocoli over couscous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
The meat was so tender, it just fell off the bone and it had a nice flavor. It could've used so more seasonings, but it was great the way it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Plains, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Very tender & tasty. I didn't even do the gravy part & it was still good. My family likes a beef based gravy, but I love tomatoes so I'm giving it a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Oh this was delicious. It was my first attempt at pot roast and it turned out great. I loved the tomato sauce! YUM! The gravy was thick enough too so I didn't need to add any flour. I did add spices and garlic to give it more flavour. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizzibear
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This turned out perfectly!! So tastey and even though I added some salt and pepper to the top of the meat, I dont think it was needed since I put in red skinned potatoes and a whole bag of baby carrots. I made the gravy too and it was a perfect topper to a perfect meal. My husband was amazed and surprised. He didnt know I knew how to make a roast ;) Thanks so much for posting this recipe. Its awesome! *I followed everything as follows including the bay leaves too* Nothing ruined anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzibear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was excellent! I made some minor dietary modifications and substituted corn starch for the flour (my sister-in-law was over and she is avoiding wheat), and used diced tomatoes that I processed in the food processor in lieu of tomato sauce (I didn't have tomato sauce in the pantry). This was the best pot roast I have ever had AND this was the first time I have ever made pot roast. It was super good. This will definitely be added to my go-to list of dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Next time will use 1 bay leaf. Sauce was odd, but really good. Meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laidback

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This tasted terrible. WAY too much onion, and the bay leaves didn't mesh well with the other flavors. The meat came out extremely tough. I didn't even try to make gravy out of the sauce because it tasted so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This recipe was just not as good as most from this site. It needed more seasoning like garlic etc. I was not fond of the tomato in the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Jackson Bushon
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Finally my losing streak is over I made a good pot roast! The meat was tender and tasty. But no one liked the "gravy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY509

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States