Mother's Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I felt that this needed some seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I love easy recipes and this one was not only easy but also very good. Grandchildren who rarely eat meat went back for more. I used a short rib roast and the meat literally fell apart when taken out of the slow cooker. Like others, I also added some vegetables which were also very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Great Recipe. I use to make pot roast but never used tomatoes in mine and was not sure how it would taste but IT WAS FANTASTIC..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl McCann Kosty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Been trying for years to make a good pot roast and finally succeeded with this recipe. Added some potatoes and carrots to the bottom of the pot and a little fresh ground pepper before turning it on. Work a long day, so cooked on low the entire time--10 hours. A little salt and 2 dashes of Worcestershire to the gravy was the perfect final touch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Delicious! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oclocal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This roast turned out great and is a nice change from my regular onion mix crockpot roast. The gravy was very good. I removed the roast and bay leaves, and left the sauce and onions in the pot. I added the flour and then used a hand blender to make a smooth gravy, then turned the crockpot to high for a few minutes. My husband said this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grosse Ile, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I was a little skeptical about making this since we are not big fans of tomatoes, and oh boy was I right!. Even though I added a couple of thing such as extra garlic, a bit of beef stock, wine and some herbs this roast was quite bland. I was planning not to make the gravy, but when I tasted the roast I knew I had to. I added 1/4C of red wine to a pot and reduced it a bit to make a base for my gravy, it was quite tasty. I shredded the meat and poured the gravy on it..this was the only way I was able to infuse some flavor into this meat. Dont know if I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.WeinnerBlowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
You will never make any other type of pot roast after having this one. I am not a pot roast lover but the gravy with this one is hands down the best gravy I have ever tasted!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
YUMMY! Served this to company and to rave reviews. Will definetly make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Recipe is amazingly delicious as is. Only change I made was I seasoned the meat with salt and pepper before placing in slow cooker. I used an eye round roast as it was on sale and I know it is a nice tender piece of meat. I also added some minced garlic and an extra bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States