Mother's Day Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
There may be a typo in this recipe. It is not light and fluffy. On the contrary, it is dense and heavy....more than a pound cake. We followed the recipe exactly and it was heavy. I think it would make good cookies... The flavor was great. We sliced it very thin and ate most of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I baked this according to instructions, only I didn't have lemons on hand (just extract and juice) so I used orange. The cake came out way too dense. I was expecting light and fluffy and got something heavier than a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Ok this is a heavy cake, I guess maybe like a pound cake or even a corn muffin texture. flavor is ok. Just not what I was expecting, made recipe as is except I tempered the eggs in the butter sugar mixture. No one cared for the cake as is so I made the lemon sauce I from this site, but didn't like the sauce, that's another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I was waiting to review this to see if maybe I just did something wrong. Unfortunately this cake was a disaster from the start for me. I think the butter needs to be creamed with the sugar to improve the texture of the cake. My sugar never mixed with the melted butter but just turned into hard lumps. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I found this to be a very strange recipe as written...and this was confirmed when I read the reviews by the others who made it as written. I didn't want a flop, so I made a couple of changes. First of all, the amount of flour seemed rather high...I looked at other bundt and pound cake recipes that had similar quantities of butter, eggs, and sugar, and it seemed that they used no more than about 3 cups of flour, not 4 3/4 cups. So I cut the amount of flour down to 3 cups, and am glad I did, because the batter was really stiff with just that amount; I can't imagine what it would have been like if I used 4 3/4 cups. I also change the method of incorporating the sugar and butter...I've never made a cake (pound or otherwise) that had the ingredients cooked together on the stove. I creamed the butter and sugar together instead, and then beat in the eggs and vanilla a proceeded with the recipe that way. I also baked it in a Bundt pan instead of a square pan...it filled the pan nicely, and would have certainly gone over the edge and burned on the bottom of the oven had I made it in a square pan. The finished cake, with these changes, was very good. It had a pound cake-like texture, and the lemon flavor was excellent. I'm sorry if I offend anyone by making these changes, but I didn't want to risk all the wasted time and ingredients that would have been the case otherwise. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I made this for the Recipe Group and usually I would follow the recipe as close to written as possible, but this time I opted to use the ingredients as listed, but change the method. I creamed the butter and sugar because that is what makes the tiny air pockets inside the cake which make it rise. No amount of leavening can make up for this step. I also added the milk before I started adding the flour. By the time I had added 3 1/2 cups of flour I had a batter that was almost too stiff and obviously not going to fit in a 9 x 9 pan so I used a loaf pan and baked it at 325 for just under an hour. I am wondering if way back when, oil may have been used instead of butter? I actually would have given it 3 1/2 stars because the flavor is lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I agree with the other post, there must be an error in the recipe because it was very tight not fluffy at all!! 4 2/3 of flour was to much causing the batter to very stiff. The only thing that saved it in my house was the flavor and the fact we ate it with ice cream. I definitely will try it again with less flour. I also used a bundt pan instead of the pan in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by josie
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I found the batter to dense. So I added more milk and orange zest and juice to make it more light. My family loved it thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States