Mother's Day Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
I've made this several times and got rave reviews. I used fat free evaporated milk & you'd never know! Delicious! I always have to bake longer, though - 45 - 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
This is the best coconut custard pie ever and possibly the easiest. No changes, made recipe as written, wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David Sherwood
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I made this for my mom on Mother's Day and she loved it! It was fluffy and I drizzled raspberry juice on it and it was amazing! If a 14 year old boy can make this perfectly anyone can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Sherwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Very, very good! I substituted stevia for sugar and used 6oz of half n half, 6oz coconut milk instead of 12oz evaporated milk. I too added about a cup more of shredded coconut. Before serving pour some of the remaining coconut milk on the plate & stream a chocolate or fruit syrup design. Place the pie on the coconut milk, top with carmelized pineapple bits, toasted coconut, fruit or chocolate shavings. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
easy to make and very tasty. I made it for pi day (3/14). I used gluten free flour and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Pleasant texture and taste, simple to make, but I missed a crust/crustlike texture at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yoly
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I had some Coco Lopez Cream of Coconut that I had to use up when I came upon this recipe. So I eliminated the evaporated milk, used 8 oz Coco Lopez, 4 oz whole milk, 1 1/2 cups sweetened flaked coconut, 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tsp coconut extract in place of the vanilla. Baked for 50 minutes. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Great pie. Anything with coconut for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senegal2c

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Oh my goodness, I can't get enough of this! I've made this, three times now, with a couple changes. I do not care for the taste of evaporated milk so I replaced the 12 ounces of evaporated milk with 6 ounces of heavy cream and 6 ounces of whole milk. I also added 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract, 1/4 teaspoon pure almond extract, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg. (I use only Spice Islands spices. Some of this brand's products are a bit pricey but they really do make the difference!) This pie is so rich and creamy - almost like coconut flan. Very simple. Just follow instructions and it turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MetaSpiritualMichael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by Ely&Nino
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I substituted the evaporated milk for sweetened condensed milk and left out the cup of sugar, as I could not find any evaporated milk here. It turned out so delicious that I'll be making it again and again. As decoration/topping I whipped a package of cream with half a teaspoon Pandan flavoured green paste and 1 spoon of sugar. Thanks for this GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ely&Nino

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ashford, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States