Mother's Day Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
easy to make and very tasty. I made it for pi day (3/14). I used gluten free flour and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Pleasant texture and taste, simple to make, but I missed a crust/crustlike texture at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yoly
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I had some Coco Lopez Cream of Coconut that I had to use up when I came upon this recipe. So I eliminated the evaporated milk, used 8 oz Coco Lopez, 4 oz whole milk, 1 1/2 cups sweetened flaked coconut, 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tsp coconut extract in place of the vanilla. Baked for 50 minutes. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Great pie. Anything with coconut for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senegal2c

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Oh my goodness, I can't get enough of this! I've made this, three times now, with a couple changes. I do not care for the taste of evaporated milk so I replaced the 12 ounces of evaporated milk with 6 ounces of heavy cream and 6 ounces of whole milk. I also added 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract, 1/4 teaspoon pure almond extract, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg. (I use only Spice Islands spices. Some of this brand's products are a bit pricey but they really do make the difference!) This pie is so rich and creamy - almost like coconut flan. Very simple. Just follow instructions and it turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MetaSpiritualMichael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by Ely&Nino
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I substituted the evaporated milk for sweetened condensed milk and left out the cup of sugar, as I could not find any evaporated milk here. It turned out so delicious that I'll be making it again and again. As decoration/topping I whipped a package of cream with half a teaspoon Pandan flavoured green paste and 1 spoon of sugar. Thanks for this GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ely&Nino

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ashford, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valerie
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Wow!!! It was very easy to make and tasted excellent. Followed the recipe exactly and turned out amazing. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Delicious! I was craving Coconut custard pie and this satisfied my craving. Quick and easy. The only thing I did differently was to substitute half the evaporated milk with coconut milk just because I had it on hand. One of my new favorite recipes. OBISue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JH
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I made this gluten free and it was great. People said that with chocolate drizzled on top it would taste like a Samoa Girl Scout cookie. I'm going to try that next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Made this last night and it turned out great . I did use 2 cups of coconut because I like more of the coconut than custard and I use 2 tablespoons of vanilla. I made coconut cookie crust and poured the filling onto the prepared crust and baked the pie for 45 minutes on the middle rack and 5 minutes on the top rack in the oven. I ate it warm and cold and it was delicious both ways. My dad took it to work and less than 24 hours I had two pie orders!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States