Mother's Day Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Great pie. Anything with coconut for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Oh my goodness, I can't get enough of this! I've made this, three times now, with a couple changes. I do not care for the taste of evaporated milk so I replaced the 12 ounces of evaporated milk with 6 ounces of heavy cream and 6 ounces of whole milk. I also added 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract, 1/4 teaspoon pure almond extract, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg. (I use only Spice Islands spices. Some of this brand's products are a bit pricey but they really do make the difference!) This pie is so rich and creamy - almost like coconut flan. Very simple. Just follow instructions and it turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MetaSpiritualMichael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by Ely&Nino
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I substituted the evaporated milk for sweetened condensed milk and left out the cup of sugar, as I could not find any evaporated milk here. It turned out so delicious that I'll be making it again and again. As decoration/topping I whipped a package of cream with half a teaspoon Pandan flavoured green paste and 1 spoon of sugar. Thanks for this GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ely&Nino

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ashford, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valerie
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Wow!!! It was very easy to make and tasted excellent. Followed the recipe exactly and turned out amazing. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Delicious! I was craving Coconut custard pie and this satisfied my craving. Quick and easy. The only thing I did differently was to substitute half the evaporated milk with coconut milk just because I had it on hand. One of my new favorite recipes. OBISue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JH
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I made this gluten free and it was great. People said that with chocolate drizzled on top it would taste like a Samoa Girl Scout cookie. I'm going to try that next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Made this last night and it turned out great . I did use 2 cups of coconut because I like more of the coconut than custard and I use 2 tablespoons of vanilla. I made coconut cookie crust and poured the filling onto the prepared crust and baked the pie for 45 minutes on the middle rack and 5 minutes on the top rack in the oven. I ate it warm and cold and it was delicious both ways. My dad took it to work and less than 24 hours I had two pie orders!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
THE LAST TIME I ADDED 1 MORE TBS. FLOUR--NEXT TIME TRY 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
So Good!! This was so easy and it turned out perfectly. We all loved it. It did take longer to bake in my oven. I think the recipe needs a new title as it's not just a Mother's Day Pie. The word coconut needs to be in the title when people search for coconut recipes. Thanks for posting this little gem!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This pie is just so amazing! It's incredibly quick and easy and uses few dishes so there isn't much washing up at all! I add more coconut (maybe about an extra half cup)and arrange canned peaches in the mixture after pouring it into the pie dish. I imagine it would also be pretty good with other fruit. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States