Mother's Applesauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
The cake is wonderful but the icing turned out grainy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jared
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Agree with the other 5-star ratings! Here's my changes: instead of adding the spices, I whisked in 1/2 cup cocoa. Instead of raisins and nuts, I used chopped dried apricots and dark chocolate chips. I'm not sure this made a huge difference, but I'll mention it just the same: I used dark brown sugar throughout cake & frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jared

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I have eaten this recipe all my life. 75 yrs. My mother had it in a recipe book put out by Rumford in 1936. It is the most forgiving cake ever. The basic cake had 1/2 tsp baking powder in it. (Rumford makes baking powder) I use it in place of fruitcake which is more fussy and I don't care for the citron. But I have used all sorts of dried fruits and nuts, in all combinations. My only rule of thumb is not to exceed 2 cups of the fruit/nuts. Basically I use the cake to hold the fruits together. A little powdered sugar icing made with a drop or two of rum or brandy works also! This can be baked in a loaf pan, bundt pan, any shape cake pan, etc. Plain or full of everything, it has never failed me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I have made it twice and both times is was perfect at 300 degrees for 1 hour. It's moist, delicious and the kids love it. The cake is best made with winesap applesauce, unsweetened. You can make your own applesauce - it's easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Just made this using my own applesauce. The whole house smells wonderful! It is dense, moist, rich. This will be a gift cake, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
My family loved this cake. It has such a wonderful flavor and texture. Will be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne Perryman-Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Jay, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Made it several times now, every time the results are excellent - dense and moist. I halve the cloves based on general preference (personally I could keep the full amt). I have made it without the dates & raisins, substituting chopped apple & white chocolate. I have compensated for sweetened applesauce by halving the sugar to 1 C. The recipe is not sensitive to these kinds of adjustments, everything works great. When baked in 2 loaf pans @ 325, it takes ca 50 min. Do not overbake to preserve the excellent moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Very tasty! Love this simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marimarbella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
The frosting is easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trufant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZOINKS
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
EXCELLENT! The only changes were No dates. We used a mixture of English and BLACK WALNUTS.... and no icing....instead dusted ours with powdered sugar to resemble snow. We baked ours in a NW mold for 60 minutes. See the pboto of our Christmas Cottage shaped cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States