Mother's Applesauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
The cake is wonderful but the icing turned out grainy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jared
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Agree with the other 5-star ratings! Here's my changes: instead of adding the spices, I whisked in 1/2 cup cocoa. Instead of raisins and nuts, I used chopped dried apricots and dark chocolate chips. I'm not sure this made a huge difference, but I'll mention it just the same: I used dark brown sugar throughout cake & frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jared

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I have eaten this recipe all my life. 75 yrs. My mother had it in a recipe book put out by Rumford in 1936. It is the most forgiving cake ever. The basic cake had 1/2 tsp baking powder in it. (Rumford makes baking powder) I use it in place of fruitcake which is more fussy and I don't care for the citron. But I have used all sorts of dried fruits and nuts, in all combinations. My only rule of thumb is not to exceed 2 cups of the fruit/nuts. Basically I use the cake to hold the fruits together. A little powdered sugar icing made with a drop or two of rum or brandy works also! This can be baked in a loaf pan, bundt pan, any shape cake pan, etc. Plain or full of everything, it has never failed me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I have made it twice and both times is was perfect at 300 degrees for 1 hour. It's moist, delicious and the kids love it. The cake is best made with winesap applesauce, unsweetened. You can make your own applesauce - it's easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Just made this using my own applesauce. The whole house smells wonderful! It is dense, moist, rich. This will be a gift cake, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
My family loved this cake. It has such a wonderful flavor and texture. Will be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne Perryman-Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Jay, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Made it several times now, every time the results are excellent - dense and moist. I halve the cloves based on general preference (personally I could keep the full amt). I have made it without the dates & raisins, substituting chopped apple & white chocolate. I have compensated for sweetened applesauce by halving the sugar to 1 C. The recipe is not sensitive to these kinds of adjustments, everything works great. When baked in 2 loaf pans @ 325, it takes ca 50 min. Do not overbake to preserve the excellent moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Very tasty! Love this simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marimarbella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
The frosting is easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trufant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZOINKS
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
EXCELLENT! The only changes were No dates. We used a mixture of English and BLACK WALNUTS.... and no icing....instead dusted ours with powdered sugar to resemble snow. We baked ours in a NW mold for 60 minutes. See the pboto of our Christmas Cottage shaped cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States