Mother's Applesauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
My family loved this cake. It has such a wonderful flavor and texture. Will be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onotohwaka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Jay, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Made it several times now, every time the results are excellent - dense and moist. I halve the cloves based on general preference (personally I could keep the full amt). I have made it without the dates & raisins, substituting chopped apple & white chocolate. I have compensated for sweetened applesauce by halving the sugar to 1 C. The recipe is not sensitive to these kinds of adjustments, everything works great. When baked in 2 loaf pans @ 325, it takes ca 50 min. Do not overbake to preserve the excellent moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Very tasty! Love this simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marimarbella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
The frosting is easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trufant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZOINKS
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
EXCELLENT! The only changes were No dates. We used a mixture of English and BLACK WALNUTS.... and no icing....instead dusted ours with powdered sugar to resemble snow. We baked ours in a NW mold for 60 minutes. See the pboto of our Christmas Cottage shaped cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Every year (for 32 years) my husband requests applesauce cake for his birthday and every year I have made one, but I was never satisfied until I tried this one. It is the best! We had just processed our applesauce for the year and used it in this cake. Topped it with cream cheese frosting. I can stop looking for his birthday recipe now! Thank you Cathy Brisco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is a "make again" for our family. It is moist and delicious. I soaked the raisins in 1/4 cup brandy for about 30 minutes, then added it all to the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
A LOT of the flavor of this cake depends upon the applesauce used. This is an older recipe, created when applesauce wasn't diluted and had good flavor, sweetness, and some tang to it from the natural acid of the apples. There's a lot of watery applesauce out there these days, so taste yours first. If you can't get good stuff, quarter, core and microwave some apples in a covered dish until soft (the skins slip right off when it's done), and use that. I used a nice, flavorful, organic brand, but when I checked, it seemed low on acid, so, to make the cake rise well, I added a T. of cider vinegar to it. The cake rose a bit TOO well, almost overflowing the pan, so next time I will cut back to 2 tsps. ALSO, dates are very sweet, so if you are omitting them, be a bit generous w/ the sugar. Frankly, it's unfair to the recipe to omit all the add-ins, use watery applesauce, and then complain that the cake is bland. I did skip the dates and raisins, but kept the nuts, used only the amount of cinnamon and cloves called for, but compensated for the omissions by increasing the brown sugar and adding the same amount of powdered ginger as cinnamon. The cake turned out delicious w/ definite applesauce flavor, and I appreciated the restrained use of shortening. A keeper that I plan to make again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This cake is fabulous! It fills the house with the smells of Fall as it's baking. It's a dense, moist cake; kinda heavy after a big meal. I used 1/2 tsp of cloves because I don't like a strong clove taste. I left out the raisins, dates, and walnuts, and the cake was delicious without them, but I think it would be better with them. Also, based on some of the reviews, I sifted powdered sugar on top just before serving instead of using the icing; it was a perfect topping. My kids started begging for another cake as soon as we finished off the first one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was the most delicious, moist cake I've made in a very long time. I substituted the cloves with nutmeg since I didn't have any... and still turned out great! I made these into cupcakes with a peanut butter frosting. One happy husband at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkijo22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States