Mother-in-law Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was an absolutely delicious soup! My roommate had three bowls and couldn't stop raving about it. I did make a couple changes. I added a little bit of chili powder (three pinches or so) for some excitement and then four bay leaves (which I let simmer) to pull the flavors together. But overall, an amazing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bspani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I always make this after Thanksgiving and Christmas. With turkey. And freeze it to serve on cold nights when I don't really feel like cooking. You can dress it up with all kinds of stuff. Just use your imagination and tastse buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudiapatx
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Great recipe that my family loved- I kept the recipe the same and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Since alot of reviews said was bland I added an envelope of Savory Herb with Garlic dry soup mix. It was GREAT comfort and flavor. Try adding this it really added the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Yarbrough

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
this is perfect and easy. wholesome. love making this soup. if you have a cold it works wonders for helping with congestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I was very pleasantly surprised by this recipe. It seemed too easy to be this good. I had planned on roasting a chicken and then adding it to broth with veggies and rice, but this was so much simpler...and my picky five year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
WOW! Super easy and super yummy. The only things that I changed was that I used chicken/thigh quarters, salt & cracked pepper, and brown rice (my preference). I also did not discard the onions, carrots, or celery...too much flavor to let go of. This was a BIG HIT, especially with the cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
It is just what it claims to be a good soup for when your sick. It is bland but can be spiced up for the occasion. It's a good soup and I made it for my 7 year old who is home sick with the flu and he liked it. If your looking for a show stopper this isn't it but for a basic soup that is gental on the stomach I recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was pretty good! Followed almost exactly ~ just used brown rice instead of white and cooked it in my slow cooker. My children gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica New Alford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Good basic recipe. Needs spicing up a bit with salt, parsley or other herbs but it's a good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States