Mother-in-law Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Good recipe to change around to suit your taste. I cooked two large frozen chicken breats in three cans of broth and water to cover with lots of herbs. I then added celery, broccoli, a carrot, half an onion, and some potatoes. Turned out very well, not our favorite soup but an excellent staple to diversify dinners. Next time I'll try it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
There is no reason to start with stock, unless you have some on hand. Water is fine, just retain the veggies. You'll get way more nutrition that way, less salt and save money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WoundedEgo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
WOW! Super easy and super yummy. The only things that I changed was that I used chicken/thigh quarters, salt & cracked pepper, and brown rice (my preference). I also did not discard the onions, carrots, or celery...too much flavor to let go of. This was a BIG HIT, especially with the cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I was very pleasantly surprised by this recipe. It seemed too easy to be this good. I had planned on roasting a chicken and then adding it to broth with veggies and rice, but this was so much simpler...and my picky five year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was a pretty good soup - I made a few changes though. I also used chicken breasts and instead of using canned chicken broth I used home made chicken broth I had in the freezer and threw everything except the rice into the slow cooker. I made the rice separately in a rice cooker using chicken stock and then placed about a half cup of rice in the bowl topped with soup. I kept the rice and soup separate because I did not want the rice to stuck up too much stock when saved in the fridge - I've had this happen with other soups with rice and noodles. I think this recipe is a good start but needs some salt and maybe a some other herbs and spices to get it to a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
this is perfect and easy. wholesome. love making this soup. if you have a cold it works wonders for helping with congestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Perfect for what I was looking for. It's a great, quick soup recipe. I used brown rice so it needed extra cooking time. I also added a boulion cube, 3/4 c frozen peas, and put the carrots back in when I returned the shredded chicken. I love spicy but my family does not, this was great for them. I sent a pot of it over to my father who is on a low sodium, low cholesterol diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Since alot of reviews said was bland I added an envelope of Savory Herb with Garlic dry soup mix. It was GREAT comfort and flavor. Try adding this it really added the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaMaw's Girls

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I didn't measure my water, but i added a can of chicken broth, and 4 bullion cubes, chopped stalk of celery, quarter of an onion, and added 2 cloves of garlic, and sea salt and pepper. as for the rice, i cooked it separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
When I saw the name of this soup I thought it might be what I am looking for, but alas it is just cooking chicken in chicken broth. I want to make my own broth from a nice fat stewing hen which I cannot find any longer. Anyone know where to find such a chicken any longer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States