Mother-in-law Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
Very good recipe. I did have to add extra broth though. Also, I cut the carrots and celery into smaller pieces so that I could leave them in the broth and not discard them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federalsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Since alot of reviews said was bland I added an envelope of Savory Herb with Garlic dry soup mix. It was GREAT comfort and flavor. Try adding this it really added the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Yarbrough

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Okay basic recipe. Added chopped fresh parsley and lots of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was a pretty good soup - I made a few changes though. I also used chicken breasts and instead of using canned chicken broth I used home made chicken broth I had in the freezer and threw everything except the rice into the slow cooker. I made the rice separately in a rice cooker using chicken stock and then placed about a half cup of rice in the bowl topped with soup. I kept the rice and soup separate because I did not want the rice to stuck up too much stock when saved in the fridge - I've had this happen with other soups with rice and noodles. I think this recipe is a good start but needs some salt and maybe a some other herbs and spices to get it to a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I was craving chicken noodle soup, but had no noodles, so I decided to try this. I took a short cut and used chicken breast so I didn't have to debone anything. I also used more broth and less rice (about 3/4 cup) as some suggested. I cut my veggies up small and left them in the soup. I agree with other reviewers that this is a good start, but it will need some spices to perk it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Perfect for what I was looking for. It's a great, quick soup recipe. I used brown rice so it needed extra cooking time. I also added a boulion cube, 3/4 c frozen peas, and put the carrots back in when I returned the shredded chicken. I love spicy but my family does not, this was great for them. I sent a pot of it over to my father who is on a low sodium, low cholesterol diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I didn't measure my water, but i added a can of chicken broth, and 4 bullion cubes, chopped stalk of celery, quarter of an onion, and added 2 cloves of garlic, and sea salt and pepper. as for the rice, i cooked it separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
When I saw the name of this soup I thought it might be what I am looking for, but alas it is just cooking chicken in chicken broth. I want to make my own broth from a nice fat stewing hen which I cannot find any longer. Anyone know where to find such a chicken any longer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
My whole family (all six of us!)got the stomach bug. This recipe was perfect. Good, old fashioned, simple-for-the-tummy soup. It tasted great and made us all feel better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I give this recipe a 4-star rating only because of the slight tweaking I did. Great soup, but as MaMaw recommended, I used water and added Garlic herb soup mix, left the carrots and celery in. I also added brown minute rice. Excellent recipe for seasonal flu! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMMERS1104

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States