Mother-In-Law Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Save an extra clean-up step by putting all the ingredients to be mixed into the zip type bag, "massage" it all together and then snip a corner off & squeeze it into the egg halves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe! I really enjoyed these eggs. Since my family isn't into spicy, I used regular yellow and dijon mustard instead of the spicy and hot mustards. I also skipped the pimento stuffed olives...I didn't have any, and my family doesn't care for them. I found that the best way to make a nice, smooth filling that's easy to pipe is to use my hand mixer to mash the yolks, and then beat in the other ingredients. I made one recipe the first time, and they were so good that Geranium and I just made a double batch. Thanks for sharing the recipe...these are great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I've only had deviled eggs a couple of times in my entire life (and have only made them myself once) so I don't have much of a reference to compare these to. I do know what I like though - and I liked these. Unfortunately I couldn't use hot mustard as the recipe called for- Hubs wouldn't be able to eat it. So I used a couple of different spicy brown mustards. I loved the bite and tang of the mustard but I think it was the combination of the mustard AND the green olives that made these so good. In other words, these just wouldn't be the same without the green olives! And they make these look so nice and dressed up too! The only thing I didn't like, however, was that the mustards I used turned the yolk mixture an unbecoming brownish-greenish color. No fault of the recipe - I just must have chosen some weird mustards! Since I can't use the hot mustard, I think maybe next time I make these I might use half yellow mustard, just to make sure the yolks stay a pretty yellow so they look as good as they taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Oh My. . . .Yum! If you are a deviled egg fan than I would double this recipe. I had to make a second batch because the first batch never made it out of my kitchen. First time using sugar in a deviled egg and I added horseradish along with the mustards because that was mom's secret ingredient. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPPGRRL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ellensburg, Washington, USA
Living In: Wheeler, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I love deviled eggs and I hate making them, but I am in training to be the sweetest and most devilish mother-in-law ever, so I thought I had better give these a whirl. I had to use HOT mustard instead of "Sweet Hot Mr. Mustard," because thats what I had - and I simply can't pipe anything, so I just filled my eggs with my cookie scoop - but I followed the recipe otherwise. Fantastic! I wish I had more. Thanks for the recipe! ♥
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Awesome, shorecook! I made this recipe exact, only leaving off the olives only because we don't like them. I made these early this morning to use up the remaining eggs before shopping day. It's got this whole sweet-hot thing going on. I can't have sugar and eggs are low-carb so next batch, I might leave out the sugar next time but that's a personal choice, not reflective of the recipe. I'm beginning to rethink deviled eggs....the last two recipes I made were AWESOME! NOTE: I couldn't find my cool tips to make pretty filled eggs, so I just scooped the filling into a thick freezer bag and snipped off the edge. Wa-la, instant piping bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
We LOVED THESE! I didn't even realized that your recipe got published (CONGRATULATIONS!!!!) until I saw SunnyPie's mouth-watering picture this morning. I had everything on hand and knew I HAD to make these for lunch today! I always make mine w/ the traditional relish and yellow mustard, but we thought these were way better than those, lol! We really loved the addition of the spicy and hot mustards and the green olive on top made these perfect! This will be my new go to recipe for deviled eggs. Thanks, SHORECOOK for a wonderfully simple and delicious recipe that has become a new favorite at my house! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I took 72 of these eggs to a party ~ yes 6 dozen deviled eggs... They lasted 1 hour. I've been asked for the recipe so many times that I now go to parties with copies of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDYTAMI
Home Town: Deptford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
These were fantastic! I took them with us to a cookout yesterday. I made them exactly as written using hot mustard from a chinese restaurant and to keep with the spicy theme I use hot hungarian paprika for garnish. I will be making these again! Thanks Shorecook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I used this recipe for Thanksgiving dinner...i never made deviled eggs before but I love to eat them. I used Miracle Whip instead of Mayo....gave it a sweet taste I will definitely be using this resipe again in the future..Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thiick2fit11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Boil Eggs

See how to boil the perfect egg—and get tips for easy peeling and chopping.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States