Mostaccioli with Spinach and Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars when it's made as written. It's good and very nutritious, but it's a little bland. However, the second time I made it I used two 15 ounce cans of diced tomatoes with basil, garlic, and oregano, and that gave the dish the flavor kick that it needed. With that change, I might give this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2000
Very tasty! Easy to prepare. Next time I will add mushrooms, onions and red pepper flakes. It was a hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
I'd make this for company. I combined this recipe with the instructions for "Suki's spinach and feta pasta" which is almost the same recipe. I used a 6 oz. bag of baby spinach that I washed & chopped & also used whole wheat penne. I sauteed the garlic for just a little while 1st. I added salt & pepper & also added 1/2 a pound of defrosted shrimp, just to warm it up, before adding the pasta & feta cheese (I happened to have plain feta in the frig). If you keep stirring the mixture at the end, the feta melts & the sauce gets an orangy, creamy texture. I also put red pepper flakes on the table, if someone wanted even more zip. I'll try 3/4 of a cup of feta next time as my husband thought the feta had a strong taste, although I loved it & we finished the whole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
Excellent! I took the previous suggestion and used whole wheat penne and reduced fat feta. Turned out fabulous. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I tried this recipe this week. It was amazing. Made a few changes. Added a few more cloves of garlic, some balsamic vinegar and thyme to the tomatoe/spinach mixture. Grilled up some chicken breast and cut it up in there. It was amazing and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
This meal was boring and tasteless. Had I known sooner, I would have been prepared with some basil pesto and plenty of Parmesan cheese to liven it up with. Also, the addition of 1 Tbls. garlic salt would be an improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
This was great! I used 1 package of frozen spinach, 1 can of whole tomatoes (I diced them), 5 cloves garlic, 1 cup of feta, and 1 cup dried Parmesan cheese. Tasty! Definetely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Great dish, but I changed some of the amounts. I used twice as much pasta, one 14.5 oz. can of chopped tomatoes with onions, and only about 3 oz. of feta. I really liked the taste. I'm not sure I would use the entire 8 oz. of feta even if I had it, because mine was salty enough. Next time I won't drain my tomatoes, as the dish was a bit dry (but I did double the pasta, so I don't know what I expected!). I love pasta but I was getting tired of the same old tomato sauce- this will definitely become a staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALBIONLUVBUG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
My family loved the blend of flavors in this recipe. I added some pine nuts as suggested by another reviewer, and we enjoyed the new texture it added to the other ingredients. We will make this again and again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
Wonderful recipe! Very easy and a big hit. Thank so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States