Most Spectacular Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jessicaimpromptu
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This was my first pie, and it was so easy! I used trader joe's pie crust. I altered the recipe a bit- I mashed up half of the strawberries with the flour, sugars, vanilla, and almond extract (omitted the cinnamon and nutmeg.. it didn't seem to go.) then I sliced up the other half of the strawberrys and arranged them on top. I latticed the top crust, which was also my first time and it was easy. I then did a light milk wash and sprinkled raw sugar all over. I made a heart with some extra crust and cut out my friend's initial (it's her birthday pie). I made 2 little mini pies with the left overs and it was absolutely amazing. the almond extract really made it unique! Can't wait to make more pies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelly Welch
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I agree with some comments that the flavors are a bit overwhelming. I did end up reducing the vanilla and almond extract to 1/2 TSP each and used just a tinge less white & brown sugar (since My strawberries were pretty sweet). I also cooked it my two pies at 350* for 35 minutes and it ended up perfect. 450* for 45 minutes was too much for my first attempt and the edges got a bit toasty. All and all I love this pie! Even won a contest with it, so I'll definitely be making this (with revisions) again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Welch

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hudson, Iowa, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grandmafish
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
We had a bumper crop of Oregon strawberries from our backyard garden this year and couldn't eat them fast enough, so I needed a strawberry pie recipe fast! I chose this one, following the recipe exactly using a prepared pie crust and freshly-ground nutmeg with the fresh strawberries. The pie turned out photo-perfect and tasted simply scrumptious, sweet and delicious with a perfect crust! It truly is the Most Spectacular Strawberry Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmafish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
this I awesome!!!I really liked this pie although next time I will omit the almond extract because it was overpowering but it is fast and easy to make and that makes it even better because as a 14yo I have a slight lack of patience
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This looked and taste GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This is the first strawberry pie I have made. I did not add the nutmeg or the almond extract. Instead, I added extra cinnamon and vanilla extract in place of the ingredients I left out. It turned out great!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I think overall this recipe works. The flavor was good, but I didn't love it and I don't think it is the recipes fault. I guess I am just not a strawberry pie fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Fabulous pie. I needed to add more strawberries through! Still turned out well and had lots of compliments! I can't wait to make another one! I used Butter Flaky Pie Crust and it went very well together. Thank you Elyssa and Tara!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzy_p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This pie is so easy! I did not use any extracts, as I did not have any on hand, and I did not use nutmeg or cinnamon. This pie still turned out great. A little sweet, but we used freshly picked strawberries. I am sure if I had used the sour grocery store type, I would have had to use just as much sugar. Also, I did not use a lattice crust, I simply put a frozen pie shell on top and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I thought this pie was great! I didn't use almond extract and halved the vanilla. However, it turned out very yummy! I thought the strawberry flavors came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States