Most Requested Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I make these weekly for my boyfriend and our kids. His oldest son has been stock piling bananas at his mom's to bring over to my place so I will make more. They all love them. I changed the recipe a bit. I use 4 bananas, 1 cup chocolate chips and only 1/3 cup butter. I have not had flax seed so have omitted it but will try it when I get some and see the difference. Adding the extra banana has made them super moist and I find I only bake them for 20-22 mins not 25. I typically get 12 full size muffins and between the four boys they are gone in a day sometimes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Fantastic! The first time I made it I was very satisfied and they were very moist. I probably put a few extra chocolate chips too because I love chocolate. The second time I made them I didn't have any flax seed, which did not make much of a difference, they were still very good, but I do prefer it with flax seed. The very first time I tried to make banana chocolate chip muffins the recipe I used was horrible, I am really glad I came across this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I tried this recipe last night, and the muffins turned out beautifully. I accidentally used the 1/3 measuring cup instead of the 1/4 measuring cup so I ended up putting in a cup of sugar instead of 3/4, but it still turned out. I omitted the flax, since I didn't have any, and I also only added 2 bananas since that is what I had on hand. My boyfriend noted that they weren't as banana-y as they could have been, so next time I would add the third banana. I also noticed the batter was very dry and crumbly, so I added 1/2 cup of sour cream to make it a little softer. All in all, they turned out moist, cakey, and delicious. Next time I would add a little cinnamon and nutmeg as well, as other posters have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Hefemm bhfffs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AJ
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Great recipe! I modified a bit by only putting in 3 tablespoons butter and 3 tablespoons applesauce plus half a container of a single serving Greek yogurt. I also soaked the flaxseed in a few tablespoons of water for a few minutes before adding to the sugar mixture- this was my first time baking with flax and I read it can absorb the moisture out of whatever you are making unless you soak it first. I also only had 2 super ripe bananas but a good tip for yellow-but-not-yet-over-ripe bananas is to pop them in the oven (unpeeled) at 300 degrees for about 40 minutes. You may want to line your pan with foil bc they will release some juices. Let them cool then unpeel to find mushy sweet bananas - perfect for this recipe! I used 5 bananas and added 1 tablespoon of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Very AWESOME recipe. I don't usually review recipes because they aren't that good. This was terrific. My kids (3&6) loved them as did my husband who dislikes "healthy" foods. I substituted the white flour with whole wheat pastry flour and the white sugar with coconut palm sugar. I also added an extra tsp. of baking soda which made them very fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Didn't rate these "5" as I changed the recipe. These were great though. I didn't use the butter - used 6 Tbsp. unsweetened applesauce instead and added 1 tsp. of cinnamon as others suggested. These rose beautifully and I love the ground flax addition. With a constant barrage of hungry teenage boys, this recipe will be a staple in my house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Made these last night and they were a hit. Made 12 generous muffins. Made them healthier by doing using half whole wheat flour and half all purpose. Also substituted 3 tablespoons of applesauce for 3 tablespoons of butter. Mini chocolate chips would help evenly spread the chocolate, but I used regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by datmathgirl
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Mmmm.... Banana chocolate chip muffins. Made mini muffins this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This recipe is great! Needs no adjustments. I have made these at least twice, and followed the recipe both times (rare for me, but it's great as written). My daughter said they were not too sweet, "grainy" and delicious! The freshly ground flax seed really adds alot to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States