Most Excellent Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Delicious! I cut the recipe in half and just about any type of bread can be used as long as it's toasted. I put a little kosher salt on my tomato along with a bit of pepper and added some minced garlic to the cream cheese. I didn't have alfalfa sprouts so I used some fresh basil instead. I also used light cream cheese and light mozzarella. You know it's done when the cheese is nice and bubbly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I liked this, but it needed something, so the next time I spread mayo on the bread first (you have to use whipped cream cheese in that case, though, because the regular, even at room temp, sticks to the knife not the bread) and I spread mashed avocado over the cream cheese. I liked jack cheese better than mozerella and thought it was better with the sprouts added last (after it came out of the oven) because warm sprouts didn't do it for me. Without changes, four stars. With changes, five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
First time I prepared these I followed the recipe exactly and they were wonderful! Second time around I used tortillas instead of the bread, added an envelope to Ranch dressing mix to the cream cheese, added sliced cucmbers and rolled them up. Just as good as the first time but with a little bit of a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
A most excellent sandwich indeed! After being on the road for several days of pizza and burgers, I wanted something healthy and simple. One bite and my digestive system sighed in relief! I followed the recipe exactly,pulling it out of the oven after 7 minutes (I was hungry). Simplicity at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I replaced the cream cheese with a wedge of Light Original Swiss Flavored cheese by Laughing Cow. It tastes just like cream cheese and is extremely easy to spread. I also used a store bought salad dressing spritzer and lightly sprayed some Italian dressing over the vegetables (tomato and avocado slices, chives and sprouts) and gave it a few grinds of black pepper. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Very good sandwich. I made it on Italian bread, because that is what I had on hand. I think next time I will try it with flavored cream cheese (chives, gr. onions, garlic, etc.) to give it a little more zing. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherokee, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Good stuff. I added a grind of black pepper, and a little drizzle of olive oil. I was out of red wine vinegar or I would have added a splash of that too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I liked this a lot. I used havarti cheese instead of mozzarella and took this to work in a whole wheat tortilla and then nuked in the microwave. i added the sprouts, tomatoes, some dill pickles and a bit on honey mustard. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
A very nice sandwich. I used a lot less alfalfa sprouts and cream cheese than called for - maybe 1/2 less? Anyway,it makes for a very decent, interesting lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Added avocado, some green pepper & salt & pepper. Turned out VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States