Most Excellent Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Most excellent? Truth! No matter how I change up the ingredients, or add to it, it's still the most excellent breakfast casserole the hubster ever liked! Because it's just the two of us, I lowered the servings and the ingredient amounts, reduced the temperature to 375F, and reduced the cooking time to about 35 - 40 minutes (until golden brown on top.) I also generously buttered the casserole dish before adding all the ingredients because the first time I made it things tended to stick to the pan. Mix it up: add onions cooked until transparent, add Rotel brand tomatoes and chilies, add chopped jalapenos or green peppers, add diced tomatoes, or your favorite vegetables fresh from your garden. You just cannot go wrong! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Soggy mess - will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Sortino Camden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Made this according to the directions and it was WAY too wet and too much onion. It probably needs less liquid and to be uncovered partway through cooking. The ingredients certainly all seem like it would make a good dish, but read through other reviews with all recommendations on how to make this dish better before you try it the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
The high school kids loved this and it was easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We cooked for Christmas Breakfast and we cooked for an hour and the top was black and the bread was soggy the bacon and sausage were good but I would recommend not to use bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this casserole last night for Christmas morning breakfast. Upon reading the reviews, I did alter the recipe. I used a thick fresh bread, but only covered the bottom of the pan with six slices. I cut down the milk to 3 cups. I placed ALL of the meat and cheese layer over top of the bread, added the milk/egg mixture, and cooked it about an hour at 375 degrees. It was absolutely delicious and we all enjoyed it. I think the amount of bread called for in original recipe is too much, but this amount was just right. I hope my tip will help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I make this recipe often for Christmas and brunches. I only use 2 cups half and half. I also use either shredded or cubed velveta cheese. I also like the hot sausage in mine. Remember to refrigerate overnight and keep covered with foil up to the last five or 10 minutes of the baking time. 1 hour 15 minutes at 375 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I really liked this. I halved the recipe and used 1 pound of bacon. I buttered the casserole dish and that made it easy to remove. I had no problem with wetness. It does have a soggy texture but that's what it's supposed to be like. I loved the flavor of the american cheese, different than shredded cheddar. I did only use about 1 small vidalia onion cooked with the bacon. I think the 1 1/2 would have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I altered this recipe for the two of us but it looked so big we invited my sister and nephew over for brunch! A few hints for anyone wanting to make this...I did saute the onions before I added them and I used approximately 2 cups of grated cheddar. I would definitely recommend spraying your dish. Other than the bread sticking to the dish it was fantastic! Very fluffy and tasty! Might try sauteed mushrooms next time...definitely going to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made this for Christmas morning and was disappointed. Five of us ate one serving and no one wanted more because of the "water/liquid" that remained in the bottom of the baking dish. I dried "drying it out" in the oven but it didn't work. Won't do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States