Most Excellent Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
I made this for Easter brunch for 20 big Navy guys, they absolutly loved it. I made two huge pans and they both came out perfect. I was very happy that the middle did not come out soggy. One of the pans I ended up baking a bit longer and it was still excellent. I did make some modifications that went well. I put almost a pound of mild cheddar cheese in each casserole. Six slices was not nearly enough for my Wisconsin raised husband. I didn't exactly trim the bread well and it didn't make a difference. All I used was one small onion for one of the casseroles. 3 seemed way to overpowering. The other casserole I left without onion. What I would suggest for others is spray the bottom of the pan with cooking spray just "incase". Also, you can use less egg/milk and still end up with a good casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAVYWIFE34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
This recipe was terrible. 3 Onions? I used 2 and that was plenty. But, the worst part was that the casserole was extremely soggy. After cooking it for 2 hours (until the top and bottom were nearly black) the casserole was still very soggy in the middle. (My oven temp. is accurate too.) I think the recipe has potential. Maybe use half of the milk. I tried turning the oven down and letting it cook for 2 hours, so I do think it is a problem with the 4 cups of milk. Still, I'm not daring enough to try it again. What a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This was excellent! I served this on Christmas morning and everyone loved it. I used bacon and honey ham instead of bacon and sausage. I also used 8 oz. of extra sharp cheddar instead of american cheese. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2001
this is so easy to fix and great to have in the morning for company or just your family. this can be made the night before so you only have to get up and bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Out of five people at breakfast this Christmas morning, two really liked it, one didn't like the texture of the bread on the bottom, (me) two people didn't say, although they left it on their plate and didn't eat it. I think they were being polite. I thought this was lacking something. And buttering the bread????...I didn't see the point in that, since this is VERY fattening already. I'd rate it one star, myself, but others thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I made this during the holidays and my whole family really enjoyed it. I like having both the bacon and sausage together. It isn't the best for your arteries but it was the holidays so what the hay! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
So easy to make and voila the guests that arrive for brunch think you have been in the kitchen all morning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Esbjerg, Syddanmark, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I made this casserole for my parents in law and they loved. I will cook it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
My husband's family always asks me to make this dish when we come to visit. Also great to prepare the night before for Christmas breakfast. It cooks while you are unwraping your gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I used regular pork sausage and removed the casings and made sure to break it up to small pieces. I used real cheddar and added more on top as well. I topped with chives as well. This was excellent and hearty. A make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States