Most Amazing Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Wow. Soft, slightly sweet, very versatile--could be served for literally any meal. And looks absolutely lovely, so it makes a great gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Great recipe! I used regular active dry yeast, but started by allowing a sponge to proof containing all the water, all the yeast, and about a third of the flour. Once that's going, it's easy adding the remaining ingredients. I agree that the last flour additions are best done in 1/2-cup increments. I'm not fond of "flavored" breads to eat, say, with scrambled eggs, so I omitted the vanilla with the egg wash. That's a personal quirk and doesn't reflect on the quality of this recipe, at all. As noted by others, the recipe halves easily. It also freezes well. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made this recipe with wheat flour. It came out amazing! Named very appropriately. I turned on the oven on like 200 degrees and let the dough rise on top of the stove for a little over an our. My family loved it and called it their favorite homemade bread. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Just finished making this bread so that I can make crème brulee French toast tomorrow. It is FANTASTIC!!!!! Finally cool enough for me to have a small piece with a little bit of butter....sooooo good! First time making it and it was very simple. Wasn't sure what the dough was suppose to "feel" like before I was ready to roll it out, but it still came out perfect. The texture is to die for...seriously! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Amazing! Delicious! I halved the recipe and it gave me 2 big loaves. Everyone loved it. Tnx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This recipe is easily scaled and makes good buns and rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My first ever Challah and it turned out awesome! :) I only used 1/4 of this recipe and got a pretty big challah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindadg
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
It was easy to make and it turned out delicious. I cut the recipe in half and made two loaves. Can't wait to make french toast with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Great recipe! Was fast and easy! I have been struggling with making challah for awhile and this was perfect 1st shot!! Will be my Friday night staple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marykevinaz
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This is the best challah I have ever made. It is light, fluffy and delicious. I made half a recipe. The first loaf I baked after 2 rises. The dough for the other loaf is in the fridge. I expect it to taste even better after sitting in the fridge for a few hours or overnight. I didn't use vanilla extract in the egg wash because I am out of it. I will use it next time though. I also used regular yeast. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States