Most Amazing Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Great recipe! I used regular active dry yeast, but started by allowing a sponge to proof containing all the water, all the yeast, and about a third of the flour. Once that's going, it's easy adding the remaining ingredients. I agree that the last flour additions are best done in 1/2-cup increments. I'm not fond of "flavored" breads to eat, say, with scrambled eggs, so I omitted the vanilla with the egg wash. That's a personal quirk and doesn't reflect on the quality of this recipe, at all. As noted by others, the recipe halves easily. It also freezes well. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made this recipe with wheat flour. It came out amazing! Named very appropriately. I turned on the oven on like 200 degrees and let the dough rise on top of the stove for a little over an our. My family loved it and called it their favorite homemade bread. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Just finished making this bread so that I can make crème brulee French toast tomorrow. It is FANTASTIC!!!!! Finally cool enough for me to have a small piece with a little bit of butter....sooooo good! First time making it and it was very simple. Wasn't sure what the dough was suppose to "feel" like before I was ready to roll it out, but it still came out perfect. The texture is to die for...seriously! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Amazing! Delicious! I halved the recipe and it gave me 2 big loaves. Everyone loved it. Tnx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This recipe is easily scaled and makes good buns and rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My first ever Challah and it turned out awesome! :) I only used 1/4 of this recipe and got a pretty big challah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindadg
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
It was easy to make and it turned out delicious. I cut the recipe in half and made two loaves. Can't wait to make french toast with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Great recipe! Was fast and easy! I have been struggling with making challah for awhile and this was perfect 1st shot!! Will be my Friday night staple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marykevinaz
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This is the best challah I have ever made. It is light, fluffy and delicious. I made half a recipe. The first loaf I baked after 2 rises. The dough for the other loaf is in the fridge. I expect it to taste even better after sitting in the fridge for a few hours or overnight. I didn't use vanilla extract in the egg wash because I am out of it. I will use it next time though. I also used regular yeast. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Oh, WOW! These were the biggest loaves I have ever seen or made. I made two, and only one loaf could fit in the oven, so I used both ovens. The taste is wonderful. The smell of vanilla during baking filled the entire house, and even outdoors you could smell it. The texture is great, too, and is very soft. I used this recipe for french toast, and everyone said it was the best they have ever tasted. I agree, personally. The only downside to making two large ones is, that you have to scrub the oven door because it won't fit! And you can use any yeast you have on hand, not just quick-rise yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Guy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States