Most Amazing Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by lmailman
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Best challah I've ever eaten. Very easy too! A few tips: don't mix dough in a metal bowl. When I do this, it doesn't rise as well. Not sure if it's because it dissipates the heat from the hot water and doesn't active the dough as well? Also, use "rapid rise" dry yeast, not just the regular dry active. And, if you 1/2 or 1/4 the recipe, err on the side of having more sugar, rather than less, so you're sure to get the yeast active. Also if you halve or quarter the recipe, add the flour in 1/2 cups at a time, rather than one cup at a time - it will be easier to work with. I have also found that you can actually allow the loaf to rise TOO much before baking - if this happens, the loaf will be flatter, and you wont get that impressive doming of a 6 braided loaf. An hour of rising time is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laura00cole
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was amazing! My fiance is jewish and he said that this was the best Challah he's ever had (and it was made by a gentile). I did cut the recipe in half and it still made two really large loaves. I also added in 2 teaspoons of Rosemary before mixing the flour - it really enhanced the sweetness of the bread. I will definitely be making this again!! Thank you Palsar7!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I halved this recipe because I knew my family wouldn't be able to eat that much bread before it went stale. Now I wish I would have made the whole amount so that I could give a few loaves to my friends! Side note/ I ran out of margarine and had to substitute butter and it was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
It is the best. I tried braiding the loaves then rising and baking them in a loaf pan instead of a cookie sheet. That made a taller, standard size slice of bread for sandwiches and toasting. I also tried freezing one braid before rising. I took it out of the freezer a week later and while it didn't rise quite as much as the original it was still enough and was delicious. Next time I'll use parchment paper on the bottom of the pan if freezing because some of the finish came off the pan in the freezer and I had to slice off the bottom of the loaf off before serving. (Maybe I need new pans?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I made this today and it was super easy and delicious. Best challah ever! I'm going to make french toast with it tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEIL3WIFE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Sunday morning, while arranging a shelf of stored dry goods, I noticed I had some bread flour that I had to use by December's end. So needless to say I was all in for the 12 cups of flour the full recipe called for. I'm glad to have done it that way for three reasons. One was that I like to try recipes I come across as they were posted because I figure this is the sweet spot according to the poster. Not being much of a baker and baking being so scientific I tend not to stray off the beaten path too far. The second was because it took a large chunk out of one of the three bags I have to get crafty with in the coming weeks. Lastly, because I needed the four loaves. The tasty buggers were gone quicker than they took to rise. I gave it five stars because each of the loaves won't last more than 5 minutes after joining the party and because with this recipe, I can confidently rock out with my Challah out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I used this recipe for my first time making challah last night and I won't use another. This was definitely amazing and it was all gone in one evening. I cut the recipe in half and just made to loaves. I may make more tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This recipe is so easy and the bread was delicious! I cut the recipe in half and made 2 nice sized loaves. Didn't get a chance to cool. One loaf was gone almost as soon as it came out of the oven! Thanks for posting! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
made this for the first and it came out wonderfull . i will make this again . much better than store bought. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
AGREED! I have probably made 30-40 challahs over the past few years and this recipe is probably the best! As others stated, I also cut the recipe in half to get two generous sized challahs. You do need to have a little experience with bread dough to know how much flour to add. Cutting it in half, I still added about 1 more cup (7 total) to get that perfect baby bottom consistency. Instead of seeds, I added course sea salt on top....YUM! THANKS FOR SHARING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States