Most Amazing Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Best Challah I've ever made and soooo easy my two year old could almost make it herself! I am never ever buying Challah again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakiah Burnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Dangerous bread! I ate so much of it because it was SO good! I halved it and still got 2 large loaves! A new love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Required an extra 2 cups of flour, but that couldve been the humidity in the air. I've tried many recipes for Shabbos but really liked the sweet, fluffy texture of this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was my first time making challah bread and it turned out great! I should have used either bread flour or more wheat gluten to make it fluffier but it was wonderful for dinner and french toast. Mmm, mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I attempted this as my first ever from scratch bread recipe and it was so easy! I really enjoyed myself and although my bread doesn't look as pretty as the picture shown here, I was proud for my first try!! And, it tasted DELICIOUS too! My two picky eaters only wanted Challah for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
super tasty and easy! i added a small amount of honey to the egg wash and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lmailman
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Best challah I've ever eaten. Very easy too! A few tips: don't mix dough in a metal bowl. When I do this, it doesn't rise as well. Not sure if it's because it dissipates the heat from the hot water and doesn't active the dough as well? Also, use "rapid rise" dry yeast, not just the regular dry active. And, if you 1/2 or 1/4 the recipe, err on the side of having more sugar, rather than less, so you're sure to get the yeast active. Also if you halve or quarter the recipe, add the flour in 1/2 cups at a time, rather than one cup at a time - it will be easier to work with. I have also found that you can actually allow the loaf to rise TOO much before baking - if this happens, the loaf will be flatter, and you wont get that impressive doming of a 6 braided loaf. An hour of rising time is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Cole
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was amazing! My fiance is jewish and he said that this was the best Challah he's ever had (and it was made by a gentile). I did cut the recipe in half and it still made two really large loaves. I also added in 2 teaspoons of Rosemary before mixing the flour - it really enhanced the sweetness of the bread. I will definitely be making this again!! Thank you Palsar7!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I halved this recipe because I knew my family wouldn't be able to eat that much bread before it went stale. Now I wish I would have made the whole amount so that I could give a few loaves to my friends! Side note/ I ran out of margarine and had to substitute butter and it was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
It is the best. I tried braiding the loaves then rising and baking them in a loaf pan instead of a cookie sheet. That made a taller, standard size slice of bread for sandwiches and toasting. I also tried freezing one braid before rising. I took it out of the freezer a week later and while it didn't rise quite as much as the original it was still enough and was delicious. Next time I'll use parchment paper on the bottom of the pan if freezing because some of the finish came off the pan in the freezer and I had to slice off the bottom of the loaf off before serving. (Maybe I need new pans?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States