Most Amazing Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This was the best Challah I have ever eaten. The family loved it too. I halved the recipe like other reviewers did. I mixed and kneaded by hand. I added some honey to the dough and the eggwash and substituted butter for margarine. Baked for 25 minutes. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. I will make challah from now on. No more buying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di0823

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I baked this bread Friday (9/21/12) for a pot luck dinner and OMG it was wonderful and turned out beautifully. I cut the recipe in half because - well, who needs four loaves of bread, ha ha. This is definitely a keeper. Everyone loved it and it looked so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Fantastic - we've made this about 10 times and get rave reviews every time we make it!! We cut the recipe to 1/4 (to make one loaf) and don't use the sesame seeds - we don't adjust the the egg wash (egg & vanilla) because the vanilla flavor adds so much to the bread. This will be your go-to bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This recipe is absolutely fantastic! Everyone loved it and it's really easy to make. I added the 12 cups of flour, and then when kneading and braiding the dough, added more flour as necessary. Definitely going to be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Best Challah I've ever made and soooo easy my two year old could almost make it herself! I am never ever buying Challah again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakiah Burnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Dangerous bread! I ate so much of it because it was SO good! I halved it and still got 2 large loaves! A new love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Required an extra 2 cups of flour, but that couldve been the humidity in the air. I've tried many recipes for Shabbos but really liked the sweet, fluffy texture of this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was my first time making challah bread and it turned out great! I should have used either bread flour or more wheat gluten to make it fluffier but it was wonderful for dinner and french toast. Mmm, mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I attempted this as my first ever from scratch bread recipe and it was so easy! I really enjoyed myself and although my bread doesn't look as pretty as the picture shown here, I was proud for my first try!! And, it tasted DELICIOUS too! My two picky eaters only wanted Challah for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
super tasty and easy! i added a small amount of honey to the egg wash and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States