Moroccan Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
A nice hearty soup for a rainy day. One word of caution if you're a beginner like me: My parsnip yielded more than one cup but I thought what the heck, don't be wasteful... wrong! It really overpowered the rest of the flavors. After adding more of everything else to balance it out, it turned out to be quite a good vegetarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
A great, easy, healthy soup! I doubled the amount of pumpkin puree so i could empty my large can. It wasn't too pumpkin-y. To add some variety to my lunch-time soup later in the week, I added some black beans and salsa, mixed, reheated and enjoyed. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I love this soup. Great on a cold rainy day. I add cayenne pepper to bowl right before serving and it adds a nice heat profile. Also, for the garnish, i like to put the parsley, garlic, cilantro in the food processor and make a pesto out of it. I find it intensifies the flavors of the garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
The first day I made this, I thought it was bland and not at all what I expected. I added cumin, crushed red pepper, and tons of black pepper, and still nothing. It sat uneaten in my fridge for three days until I decided to take it to work for lunch... I added a little curry powder and BAMMMMM!!! GREATEST. SOUP. EVER. Needs a lot more spice, a few days to sit, and then this is an incredible recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
YUM!!!!!!!!!! I doubled the recipe and added about 1/2 cup of fresh cilantro and no oil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Fantastic!!! Both my husband and I LOVED it. I pretty much followed the recipe using a supermarket pack of 2 carrots, 1 big parsnip, 1/2 a small leek, 1 small celery stick, 1 small turnip, a lot of parsley, and 1 sprig of dill. I added 1/2 a sweet onion. I sauteed everything but the herbs in olive oil for a few minutes before adding the pumpkin (1/2 a can) and the vegetable stock. I added salt, pepper, and dried cilantro to taste and simmered for about 45-50 min. covered. I then blended with an emersion blender. I made the garnish separately and included the dill, which I had also chopped. I eyeballed the paprika and probably used much more than 1/8 tsp. Instead of adding the garnish to our bowls, I added it into the soup since we ate 1/2 of it and will have the rest another day. I will definitely be making this soup again and again. It is very warming and filling so it is great for winter. I recommend the recipe highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Very good soup! I also added the whole can of pumpkin (what do you do with the other half anyway?) and three good shakes of cayenne. I also only had chicken stock on hand and it worked well. Add some good bread and it's perfect for a chilly Fall day. Oh, and an immersion blender is one of the best purchases I've ever made. Buy one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Not bad, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by musicaldragon
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Made this recipe as is and it was delicious! Both my children and my husband liked it. Good way to sneak in the veggies with little ones :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Served to a group of teachers with rave reviews over this yummy soup....after pureeing added more stock as it was quite thick. Did add the garnish, nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States