Moroccan Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I had to make some modifications because of what I had on hand. Sweet pototoes instead of butternut squash, light red kidney beans and great northern beans as well as garbanzos because I had no chicken. I added generous shakes of cinnamon and cumin, as well as greshly-ground mixed peppercorns. I added raisins as well. I thought it was quite good, and it's a pretty adaptable recipe. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Just tried this recipe for the first time and loved it! So easy to make and the flavors are amazing!!! I"ll definitely be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This recipe came out beautifully and wonderfully! I made it in my creuset and first sauteed the onions with salt for 10 minutes and then added the chicken and the cut up garlic, I added in a tablespoon of paprika for color and then after adding in everything else added in an Israeli spice - Hawaijj which is a mixture of tumeric, cumin and nutmeg, I substituted honey for sugar about 3 tablespoons and I roasted the butternut squash seeds and put them back in at the end. I also used half a can of chickpeas, half a butternut squash and half a carrot. My husband loved this!!! It was a beautiful fall dish. I used the remaining carrot and butternut squash to make a bisque. Served this with a side of Israeli couscous - it was perfect. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
So good without chicken! Even my kids ate it. Easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This was my first attempt at making something like this the family loved it especially my picky eating son
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rodeomom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Point, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I did make a few changes to the spices, but it was incredibly flavorful. As suggested by a previous reviewer, I marinated the chicken for a few hours ahead of time (I used lemon zest, lemon juice, fresh grated ginger, chopped garlic, salt, pepper and paprika). For the recipe itself, I used fresh tomato, fresh cilantro, a whole onion, chicken broth, and no chickpeas (I couldn't fit them in the tagine!). I also added some garam masala and extra cayenne pepper. The flavor of this dish was incredible. I cooked everything in my tagine for about an hour and a half. My only problem was that it was difficult to fit everything in the tagine! I used the extra sauce to cook some Israeli cous cous...DELISH! The butternut squash makes this dish. I think next time we will omit the chicken (but add the chickpeas).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I would give this more stars if I could. I look forward to fall just to make this with fresh butternut squash. I don't add chicken or the sugar. I also use fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Like other reviewers suggested, I usually add some cumin and raisins. I've also made this with sweet potatoes in addition to the squash. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Very good but needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I liked this but didn't love it. Have never had Moroccan Tagine, but wanted to make it after watching an episode of Around the World in 80 Plates. ;-) I'm sure that this version would get someone kicked off, but having never had an authentic Tagine, this was good. Easy too. I did think it could use more spices, as it didn't have the bold flavor I was expecting. This is one of the healthier dishes I've made that my husband likes, so I'm making it again just for that reason! I will read through reviews to see what others did to up the spice factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States