Moroccan Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Excellent recipe! I would have given it 5 stars, but I made some changes so felt I couldn't really. For those who don't think the chicken adds much, try using boneless skinless chicken thighs instead. I used sweet potatoes instead of squash. Added about 1/4 cup of golden raisins (yummy!). 1/4 tsp each cayenne, cinnamon and allspice, also 1/2 tsp cumin in addition to the 1 tsp coriander. Also, I let this cook quite a bit longer (sweet potatoes take longer to cook from raw?), and I wanted to reduce the liquid more anyway. Results are absolutely delicious and healthy, and it tastes even better the next day! Next time I will double the recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Very good, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Wow, this stuff is great! Someone else shared this recipe, and I didn't get around to making it for a while; it sounded good, but not outstanding. I was wrong - it is outstanding!! I served it with white rice cooked in chicken broth, which was a nice balance to the chicken broth base in the tagine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Yum! I made the recipe w/o chicken so I used an extra 1/2 can of chickpeas. Because I only planned to cook it 20 min. I reduced the broth and juice from canned tomatoes to only 1-1/4 cup in total. I added the spices to the sauteed onions before putting in the rest of the ingredients so they could sautee a minute to get rid of the raw taste. In addition to 2 t. of ground coriander, I used 1 t. ground cumin, 1/4 t. ground allspice, 1/8 t. 5-spice powder and a generous dash of black pepper. I reduced the sugar to 2 t. and when I put in the rest of the ingredients, I added 1/4 t. hot paprika instead of cayenne. I held off on putting in the lemon juice until the last few minutes of cooking. What a delicious meal! Thanks, JLJackson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Family LOVED this!!! I did add a handful of raisins about 5 to 10 minutes before serving. I also served it with the couscous recipe from the Roasted Curried Chicken with Couscous on this site. It worked very well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This recipe is INCREDIBLE as is. I make it without the chicken. I have made it both ways and I dont feel the chicken adds anything to it. Ive given the recipe to everyone in the family, and they all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Liked a whole bunch. Quick and easy, and would be just as good with sweet potato instead of butternut squash :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I did what the other reviewers were saying and added a tsp of cinnamon and cumin. I also end up adding 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper. I have already used this recipe for thanksgiving and cooked it with double chickpeas. It got rave reviews. I have cooked it vegetarian style with no chicken (using veggie broth) and with chicken (using chicken broth) I always serve couscous on the side or under the tagine. I find that carrots need to be chopped pretty well to prevent them from being too crunchy by the time the tagine is done cooking. I added a tsp of sage once bc i didn't have coriander and it was just as good. LOVE this recipe. Its already a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Great mix of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
this was really good and different. maybe too many chick peas. they kinda got old after a little bit. would love to try another bean, if it still stays true to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States