Moroccan Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe. It reminded me of an actual "tagine" dish I had in Morocco. Based on other reviewers using broth instead of water, I threw in a cube of lamb buillon and I think it was a good choice. (I'm residing in England; I'm not sure you can get lamb buillon in the States.) I also let the pears sit in some lemon juice and cinnamon while the lamb was stewing, and I served it with couscous. My husband didn't like it as much as I did, and I'm guessing the combination of textures and the sweetness being rather unusual for the American palate is why this recipe has some lower ratings. But I thought the almonds, pears, and raisins with the sauce and couscous was the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnysue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This recipe was a bit sweet for my tastes and I could've done without the almonds. With a bit of tweaking I suppose I'd fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This recipe for Lamb Tagine was simply wonderful! And it was so easy to make - I'll definitely be making this next time I host a dinner party. Also, I served this over couscous instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
The sauce part was kind of mealy and it was not very visually appealing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith Keeney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I thought this recipe was delicious! I love spice so i pretty much doubled the spices and left out the almonds as i didn't have any on hand. I also served mine over couscous instead of rice. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I thought it was very good. I made it twice. The 2nd time, I used smaller pieces of pears and a little extra liquid. I would not recommend beef. The almonds are fine, and a brown rice works, but couscous work as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I messed with it too much to give a decent review -- but it's good with stew vegetables if you adjust the liquid so reducing it all isn't a pain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
i added 1TBS of Lemon juice half a cube of cubed chicken stock an extra tsp of cumin and a bay leaf. it tasted alot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAKEENAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Living In: Azaadville, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
This tagine was just ok. It wasn't my favorite, but my boyfriend did enjoy it. I thought the dish lacked flavor...and I even tried adding some extra flavor to it while it was cooking. Also for me, the dish took quite a bit longer to cook than what was instructed. Also, mine turned out too watery...and this was after I left the lid off for some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This recipe was perfect for the meal I planned for Valentine's Day. One thing I learned, though...DO NOT substitute with beef cubes! Very dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GR8NURS1271

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Roasted Rack of Lamb

An amazing roast rack of lamb encrusted with mustard and seasoned bread crumbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States