Moroccan-Style Stewed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This is a four star recipe that with a few tweaks definitely has five star potential. Here's what I did to mine: First I added salt to the stew. The chicken stock has 33% less sodium and unfortunately if you don't add it while the dish is cooking, it suffers. Just be careful not to oversalt. I served the stew over steamed white rice and then toasted some pecans in butter and brown sugar and drizzled that over the top, it really brings all the flavors together. Mmmm, yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Delicious and super easy to make. I followed the recipe and added a diced sweet potato. I also served with bread as others recommended which was a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
The Moroccan Stewed Chicken was great!!! I took the Chicken out and made a roux to make it a thick sauce instead of a stew.... Escellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Great flavor, simple preparation. Has become a "regular" in our family menu. Added small pkg (2.5 oz) of sundried tomatoes for a richer, more earthy flavor. Modified to use a dutch oven, instead of a slow-cooker as follows: lightly brown chicken thighs in 1Tbsp melted butter in dutch oven and remove, saute onion & garlic in butter/chicken juices, add back chicken & all remaining ingredients, bake 2 hours at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I tried this exactly as it was written (except I didn't add the green pepper since I hate them). Since I started kind-of late, I cooked it in my enameled cast iron dutch oven stove-top over fairly high heat for about 3-1/2 hours. I was a little nervous since it hadn't been reviewed yet, but what a surprise! This was absolutely fantastic. All of the broth cooks down, so you're left with a sticky stew that smells sweet and earthy. I made a side of khobz, a Moroccan bread, and did a lot of dipping. Thank you for such a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon-Paul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Picayune, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I loved this - followed recipe. Should have used boneless chicken - didn't have and bones were aggravation although taste was outstanding. Great with rice or noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Fantastic and easy. Used canned fire roasted tomato, green onion, and added a little cayenne and salt. Not a fan of green peppers so left those out. There were NO left overs. Very good ... will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Wonderful dish, lots of flavour, aroma and very quick and easy to prepare. I would definately make this again. Followed recipe as written, but next time will try a sweet potatoe in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I only had skinless boneless thighs on hand, look forward to having bone in chicken next time,...great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was really tasty! I was skeptical about the raisins, but added them anyway. I didn't need to worry about that part! :) The next time I make it, I will double the spices, and maybe add some cayenne to the mix. It was a tad bland with the amounts called for, but I think adding more will do the trick. Also, I didn't care for it with orzo. I'll do brown rice next time. Overall, quite good, and it will definitely go into my "make again" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States