Moroccan-Style Stewed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I wanted so badly to like this. It got so many positive reviews and I love slow cooker recipes. The only thing I changed was omitting the green pepper because I did not have one on hand, and I added a little bit less raisins because my hubby is not a big fan. Even with less raisins the dish turned out way, way to sweet. I am usually a fan of sweeter dishes, but this was just too much. My husband and I each had a small bowl. Even though I found it to sweet, I did like the flavors. I may use the spices as an inspiration for a modified version of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susabelle
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Loved the flavor and spices! I decided to add sweet potatoes as others have mentioned and it was just a little too sweet for me my family. The cinnamon seemed a little overwhelming. If I were to do it over, I would go lighter on the honey and the cinnamon especially if adding sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Levi
Home Town: Reedsport, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I only had bone-in thighs, so they went into the bottom of the crockpot, and everything else got layered in on top. I didn't have a bell pepper, but that's the only change I made to the recipe. I figured since I was using bone-in thighs that the cook time would need to be increased, so I put it on High and checked back 4 hours later to see how they were doing. My thighs were falling apart!! So, I pulled out the thighs and let them cool before de-boning them. I added a little cornstarch to the pot and let it continue to cook. When I was ready to start the rice (used rice not orzo) I put the chicken back in the liquid. I served this in bowls on top of rice. Yum. Next time I won't use so much honey, with the raisins, it was a bit sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This looked good on paper. Far too sweet for a chicken stew by my standards, but I don’t have much experience with Moroccan food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jusezimmer
Living In: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Super easy slow cooker meal that is a bit different from the standard. Great flavors from the honey, cumin and cinnamon. I only used 1 can (2 cup) of chicken stock and there was more than enough liquid. I also added 1/2 tsp. ground ginger. Definitely add the raisins in the last half hour. Served on brown rice. Will make again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I only had skinless boneless thighs on hand, look forward to having bone in chicken next time,...great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Great flavor, simple preparation. Has become a "regular" in our family menu. Added small pkg (2.5 oz) of sundried tomatoes for a richer, more earthy flavor. Modified to use a dutch oven, instead of a slow-cooker as follows: lightly brown chicken thighs in 1Tbsp melted butter in dutch oven and remove, saute onion & garlic in butter/chicken juices, add back chicken & all remaining ingredients, bake 2 hours at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
More of a soup than a stew. I added a few more pieces of chicken thighs, and towards the end I put in a can of drained chickpeas and some frozen green peas for some more body. Next time I'm putting in the raisins toward the end too so that I don't have grapes in my soup, and leaving out some of the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was really tasty! I was skeptical about the raisins, but added them anyway. I didn't need to worry about that part! :) The next time I make it, I will double the spices, and maybe add some cayenne to the mix. It was a tad bland with the amounts called for, but I think adding more will do the trick. Also, I didn't care for it with orzo. I'll do brown rice next time. Overall, quite good, and it will definitely go into my "make again" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States