Moroccan-Style Stewed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jeff S
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This wasn't bad although I agree with the reviewers who said something was missing. I followed the recipe at first, tasted it and then added salt, a little turmeric, and some ginger root. I served the dish over rice and garnished with fresh basil and pineapple slices. I found the sweetness of the recipe complemented the pineapple well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Really enjoyed this recipe, easy to make and very tasty. Used rice instead of pasta and half the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Oh my gosh... I didn't have really high expectations for this recipe but it's GOOD! I used my dutch oven as I don't like my crock pot. Also used 4 skinless boneless chicken breasts instead of thighs. Also added some chicken base because I am not a fan of chicken stock. It is delicious! I think next time I will be more brave and add some of the spices from other similar recipes here and go for even more intense flavors. This is going to be a new staple in my kitchen, it's easy to toss it all together and not worry about it, just let it slowly simmer. YUM! I also served it with some pita bread and brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This recipe is a keeper, though I tweaked it a bit mostly out of necessity. I didn't have cumin, so I used garam masala, an Indian spice mix that contains cumin, coriander, cinnamon, cardamom and cloves. I substituted unsulphered apricots for the raisins and a diced sweet potato as recommended by another reviewer. And since I don't have a slow cooker, I followed another reviewer's suggestion and cooked the stew in a heavy dutch oven. I brought all the ingredients to a simmer on the stovetop and then placed the dutch oven in the oven at 375 for an hour and a half. Near the end of the cooking time I added salt to taste and a paste of arrowroot (and water) to thicken the sauce and then reduced it on the stovetop for a few minutes. (Note: I think that this entire dish could be done on the stovetop in about an hour, so I'm going to try this next time out.) I served the stew with basmati rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Simple and delicious! I served over white rice instead of the orzo. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
awesome! following another person's advice below, I added sweet potato (and left out raisins) and served it over rice. It was very flavorful, filling, and chicken was nice and tender. Easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Delicious! Although I prefer the dutch oven method another user mentioned, the stew turns out much thicker and more flavorful. This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Made this as written, and it's too sweet for my taste. Will try again and probably add a bit of spice to balance out the sweet and maybe half the amount of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Loved it! My picky husband loved it and told me to keep it in my recipe box. I used my own stock, which made it healthier, and didn't add the raisins because I forgot to but I didnt miss them. I was 9 months pregnant when I made this and it was quick and easy. Also, added a sweet potatoe like other reviewers suggested, and it was an awesome choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rumson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was basically good but a little bland. Next time I will use less chicken broth and increase the seasoning. There was a lot of sauce but it was very watery, will maybe try thickening it with some cornstarch. Chicken was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States